Shaw Direct 505 RF connections - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-04, 01:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hepworth Ontario
Posts: 97
Question Shaw Direct 505 RF connections

The Motorola 505 RECEIVER has an RF output with a choice of CH 3 or 4.

Will these RF channels carry the HD channels?

If so it will make it easier to run a cable outside to my workshop.
ronycoca is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-04, 02:22 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,118
I'm assuming that the 505 can tune HD channels. If so, yes, it will send those channels out the RF-coax port, however, the images will be SD quality. See the following FAQ:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-5...nnections.html

RF-coax is the "worst" picture/sound quality source and you should use anything else unless you don't care about picture and sound quality.

If you want HD, you'll need either HDMI or Component video. Or you can run cable(s) from your dish and use another receiver for the TV in question.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-04, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hepworth Ontario
Posts: 97
Thank you. I use a DVI to HDMI for the main TV and it looks great.
ronycoca is online now  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-09, 10:55 AM
PSJ
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
It's not my intention to scare anyone and I don't know if this has been mentioned here before but...I was just talking to SD tech support to have 2 505's removed from my account in favor of 2 6xx's and he ask me if it was okay to decommission them. I said well I may try to sell them for a few bucks and he said I could but within 2 months, they're going to be decommissioned anyway - along with any other legacy receivers.

Now he may or may not know what he's talking about - I don't know - but I thought I'd pass it along.

FYI, the DSR600 has an RF output to TV while the DSR605 & DSR630 do not.
PSJ is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-09, 01:17 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,087
Other people have reported that Shaw is stopping the resale of 505s since they can't receive MPEG-4 signals and Shaw is converting almost all their channels to MPEG-4.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-s...ml#post2867746

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-s...-mpeg-4-a.html
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-12, 09:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
Just out of curiosity, how much are they charging you for the 6xxs?

Do you need to have anything changed at the dish too? LNIB?
dosgringos is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-03-17, 11:42 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
If you never had a 6xx receiver, or your dish otherwise services in the past few years, you need the LNBF changed to an X-Ku one, so you can receive the G1 satellite.
classicsat is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2017-11-10, 03:55 PM
PSJ
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dosgringos View Post
Just out of curiosity, how much are they charging you for the 6xxs?

Do you need to have anything changed at the dish too? LNIB?
My apologies for not responding, as I didn't see your post until now.

Anyway, I got the boxes through privates sales and, yes, I did have to switch LNB from Dual Stacked to xKu.
PSJ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome