Non-HDCP Compliant?? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-02-23, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,096
Non-HDCP Compliant??

Hi a few times lately our recordings got screwed up because the video of the channel went away. :-( We have a 605 but I didn't post in that thread because I think maybe this would be true of other SD rcvrs.

It just did it again, it's all black except a msg that says, "A non-HDCP Compliant device has been detected. Video output may be disabled until the device is disconnected from the HDMI output of your satellite receiver."

That's very confusing because the SD rcvr HDMI goes to our Sony Blueray player then to the TV. But it's okay if we watch the HDMI on the TV. This msg is only when we watch the Magnavox DVR but that isn't on the HDMI from the SD rcvr it's on the A/V connectors. So why is everything okay on HDMI when the msg says the problem is with HDMI??? We've had Magnavox DVRs for years but this problem is happening more and more lately I don't know why.
Bayguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-02-23, 05:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,403
Can you hook up the receiver to the TV in one slot and the BluRay player to another slot?
DSgamby is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-02-23, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,096
DSgamby if we don't put the rcvr through the BluRay we don't get surround sound from the rcvr.
Bayguy is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-02-23, 08:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,403
DSgamby is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-02-24, 09:07 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 505
It is a Mystery

Bayguy, I've never seen that problem. It is a mystery!
FYI, I have a Shaw Direct 630, a SONY Blu-ray, SONY AVR, and a Magnavox DVR (No tuner and record only SD to DVD).
The DVR only records from the (480i) RCA A/V from my OTA external tuner.

The wiring is :
630>via HDMI>AVR>via HDMI>TV;
Blu-ray>via HDMI>AVR>via HDMI TV;
OTA Tuner>via A/V>Magnavox DVR>via HDMI>TV
RuralRouter is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2017-02-24, 01:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,096
It is a mystery

Hi RR yes it is a mystery! Last nite we were out and it recorded fine!

Here is our wiring:

605 HDMI > Sony BluRay HDMI > TV HDMI
605 A/V > Magnavox DVR A/V > TV A/V

We only get the message when we look at the TV thru the DVR when we look at HDMI it's fine! Very weird!!
Bayguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome