800 Series Discussions - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 45Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-25, 02:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,223
Quote:
its not really any worse that the Bell Sat offerings
Exactly. Both companies' offerings are sadly out of date and very weak compared to what is available in other countries. There is no money to be made satellite TV in Canada and no real competition. Both companies are more interested in selling internet+phone+TV combos in urban areas. If Canada had a single, truly independent satellite TV company that was really interested in competing against landline based internet and TV, we would see some movement. That hasn't been the case since StarChoice was purchased by Shaw and Bell started rolling out fibre. I doubt anything with significantly better features than the 800 series will ever be available for satellite in Canada. The money and motivation just isn't there for the companies involved.
ExDilbert is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-25, 06:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 847
Well maybe they should have called it the new 601(base) 631(PVR). I don't think it merits a 2 generation product line leap.
Leafs13 and HowieDoin2 like this.
smp01 is offline  
post #123 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-26, 12:40 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
From every thing I've seen this receiver would have been awesome back in 2010.
HowieDoin2 likes this.
Blackloz is offline  
 
post #124 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-26, 09:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan B View Post
Oh come on, its not really any worse that the Bell Sat offerings, with the exception of the 2 lines now is it ? At least it has built in WiFi not a dongle....lol
Just because Bell Sat doesnt want to join 2017, didnt mean that SD didnt have to either.
HowieDoin2 is offline  
post #125 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-26, 11:44 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,223
Quote:
From every thing I've seen this receiver would have been awesome back in 2010.
I'm not even sure of that. Apart from fixing some technical shortcomings in the 530 and 630, the 830 is not significantly different. Even when the 530 series was introduced, it was basically a catch up product to compete with Bell's satellite PVRs. Dish Network introduced the Hopper in 2012. That was awesome. We're still waiting for a comparable product in Canada. Cable and telecom systems have mature whole home PVRs already. Where are the competing products for satellite?
HowieDoin2 likes this.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #126 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-28, 09:02 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 505
Thumbs down Still No Shaw 830 manual online

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dave View Post
... Arris has requested confidentiality for 180 days on the manuals and photos that would show dimensions.
It has been at least a couple of weeks since Shaw Direct was made aware that their 830 PVR webpage link points to their 630 user guide:
... 2014-08-01-userguide-hdguide-en-v4.pdf

I noticed that they changed the webpage to include the spec of the HDD be 1 TB.

Something isn't kosher here.

Noah12 published a photo of the userguide he received with the 830, but as of today (July 28, 2017) SD has not put up the correct user guide on their 830 webpage.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #127 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-28, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchophile View Post
Allan: it's not a matter of being better than the competitors, it's no different than the model it's replacing, and in some respects even worse.
How is it "no different", thought it had a larger Hard Drive, WiFi, to name just two things.?

As it is "no different" how is it then worse.?
Allan B is offline  
post #128 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-07-28, 06:04 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 510
Allan: fair points. i should have said not dramatically better.

Bigger hard drive isn't that great imo, considering that one could hook an external 2 TB drive with sata to the 630.

Wifi? I mean, i guess if you want to stream shows on your sat receiver, that's cool. It's redundant for me, since my tvs have wifi

how is it worse?

no clock or front display (maybe not a big deal to some)

no component output is disappointing. i have two of my receivers (630 and 605) connected to two tvs, one via component, the other via HDMI. the 800 series doesn't give that option

a lot of posters had hoped that the 800 series would have had more features. but like ExDilbert said, Bell and SD have very little financial incentive to innovate.
Leafs13 likes this.
frenchophile is offline  
post #129 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 02:35 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 687
Gents,

My brother is getting a new 830 (and xKU LNB this week). Shaw Direct is sending a tech over to do the install even though my brother is an Electrician. (They insisted). I'll advise his thoughts after the install.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #130 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 09:16 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 505
Self-Install

Jimsathome, it was my experience that the Shaw Direct installer will surface mount the cable as much as possible. If that is not acceptable, your brother may wish to buy SD approved cables and run them inside walls or install conduit.

Cable Installation @ Kusat.com
RuralRouter is offline  
post #131 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 10:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 299
No component? That alone kills the 800 for me. My main TVs run HDMI and component in parallel.

Did they remove the ethernet port too?
JasperJoe is offline  
post #132 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-01, 10:57 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,427
Post 107 shows a picture of the 830 including the Ethernet port.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #133 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-02, 01:48 AM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
Here is a pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170801_223929.jpg (87.6 KB, 87 views)
noah12 is offline  
post #134 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-02, 01:54 AM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
Maybe a little better pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170801_223929[1].jpg (108.6 KB, 94 views)
noah12 is offline  
post #135 of 315 (permalink) Old 2017-08-02, 08:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 78
Can you get a picture of the interface and whatever is different from the 630?
Do you have an external drive?
OlStatic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome