800 Series Discussions - Page 18 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 44Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #256 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-03, 08:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 124
Hdpvr 830 vs 630

i just wanted to get some opinions on the hdpvr 830. Besides the 1TB harddrive and the wifi capabilites, are there other advantages the 830 has over the 630. On the flip side, are there any disadvantages that the 830 has vs. the 630. I am thinking of upgrading to the 830 from my 630 but wanted to know if it's worth the money

thanks

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2019-07-03 at 11:32 PM. Reason: moved to existing thread
Billy34 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #257 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 09:26 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 169
Here are the main physical differences for the 830 compared to 630:

1- No front facing clock
2- No component cable output - HDMI only
3- No lost signal (little red light) indicator on front panel
4- No "recording" indicator (red light) on the front panel

Last edited by 57; 2019-07-04 at 09:34 AM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
goalsgo is offline  
post #258 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 09:51 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 145
@goalsgo - I know you're just pointing out the differences, if anyone is interested in gaining back a front panel way to tell when signal is lost, go into OPTIONS > Preferences > Hardware Settings. Enable "Signal Status LED".

This will cause the front panel to blink when signal is lost.
RuralRouter and NovaMan like this.
k801809 is online now  
 
post #259 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 09:56 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,374
I believe the 800 series has a faster processor.
More options for recordings. - team option for example
Better handling of online status for VOD when connected to the internet
Will continue to get feature updates whereas 600's will not

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #260 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 02:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Fort Erie, Ontario
Posts: 41
I have a 630 and 830, both connected to newer model higher end TVs and I donít see any difference in picture quality, so thereís no disadvantage there fwiw. If the extra features on the 830 arenít dealbreakers for the OP, I donít think Iíd spend the extra money imo.
HowardDoin is online now  
post #261 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 05:09 PM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by k801809 View Post
@goalsgo - I know you're just pointing out the differences, if anyone is interested in gaining back a front panel way to tell when signal is lost, go into OPTIONS > Preferences > Hardware Settings. Enable "Signal Status LED".

This will cause the front panel to blink when signal is lost.
@k801809 Thank you for that tip.
goalsgo is offline  
post #262 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 05:24 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 145
The 8XX line has a lot more memory, and faster processing for sure. It's very noticeable on my full-hard drive units between the two. Less so on HDDSRs or less full PVRs, but still noticeable.

@LONSat is correct - 8XX will continue to receive software releases and subsequently new features. The last update included Season/Episode info in the Guide, Team Recording (series recording for Sports teams), language filtering in the Guide (hide all English or French channels in one step), VOD binge watching and VOD search enhancements (cast, music, artist). And lastly, the signal status LED I referred to earlier.
k801809 is online now  
post #263 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-04, 08:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by k801809 View Post
@goalsgo - I know you're just pointing out the differences, if anyone is interested in gaining back a front panel way to tell when signal is lost, go into OPTIONS > Preferences > Hardware Settings. Enable "Signal Status LED".

This will cause the front panel to blink when signal is lost.
that is cool, will have to try it out.. I can handle the no clock (although I wish they had it on the 830), but the 2 missing LED lights to indicate recordings is a bummer. I don't understand why they would remove this
RuralRouter likes this.
Billy34 is online now  
post #264 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-05, 08:34 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy34 View Post
that is cool, will have to try it out.. I can handle the no clock (although I wish they had it on the 830), but the 2 missing LED lights to indicate recordings is a bummer. I don't understand why they would remove this
I guess it's called progress. Kind of like Apple that has the (bad) habit of removing useful things after an OS update.
goalsgo is offline  
post #265 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-05, 09:53 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 145
I know it's not the same, but the recording icons in the Browse Banner (press ENTER on live TV) indicate which tuner is recording when. The forward icon represents tuner 1 and the back icon tuner 2. They'll light up red when actively recording (most probably know about this already but figured I'd mention it!)
k801809 is online now  
post #266 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-05, 11:45 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by k801809 View Post
I know it's not the same, but the recording icons in the Browse Banner (press ENTER on live TV) indicate which tuner is recording when. The forward icon represents tuner 1 and the back icon tuner 2. They'll light up red when actively recording (most probably know about this already but figured I'd mention it!)
Thank you for the tip - I did not know about it. You are right though, it's not the same because we need to turn on the TV and the 830.
goalsgo is offline  
post #267 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-08, 02:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 71
My 830 does not work properly with the external hard drive. If the communication between the two is interrupted in any way ( power failure, 830 reboot, turn off external drive,disconnect cable.) you have to reformat the external drive and therefore loose all recordings on the external drive.
ralphf is offline  
post #268 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-08, 03:05 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by k801809 View Post
Now that I'm on here and actually posting - I wanted to poll this group on 8XX receiver features. We're still actively developing the platform and I honestly don't receive too much customer feedback as to what the platform may be missing.

Are there any features, or enhancements, that would make your lives easier, or your viewing experience better?
Do an update so the external hard drive does not have to be reformatted (and therefore loose the recordings) if communication between 830 and ext hard drive is interrupted.

Last edited by 57; 2019-07-08 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Quote Shortened.
ralphf is offline  
post #269 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-08, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 145
I haven't heard of this happening before to be honest, especially not every time. My external drive here is okay after any kind of reboot. What kind of drive do you have (model numbers would be helpful).

What's the error message you get?
k801809 is online now  
post #270 of 310 (permalink) Old 2019-07-08, 05:58 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 476
What is the speed of your external drive 5400 RPM or 7200 RPM?

Maybe a 5400 RPM HD is not fast enough? Maybe USB 2 is a bottle neck?
Re-Install 830 firmware???

Just guessing.
RuralRouter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome