800 Series Discussions - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 44Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-05, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 273
Can you 'rewind' the 830 at fastest speed while recording another program and have it respond when you press play?

On my 630 I can't go more than 2 arrows or it will run all the way back to the beginning of the recording.
JasperJoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-08, 07:13 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hepworth Ontario
Posts: 97
Does the 830 have a fan? Two of my 630s' fans are so noisy.
ronycoca is online now  
post #153 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-09, 08:07 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 169
It appears not to have a fan and the enclosure has no venting slots on top.
goalsgo is offline  
 
post #154 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-09, 09:04 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 273
No vents on top so you can buy a clock and put it there.
JasperJoe is offline  
post #155 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-09, 10:00 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Slow Motion

I chose the 830 as it is the only receiver that I know of that has SloMo (2 speeds ffwrd and back, [pause] and then [>>] ).
remote seems to be for the 630 still. no favs, no series recording?. Waiting for the guide.
Tr33man is offline  
post #156 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-09, 12:42 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperJoe View Post
Can you 'rewind' the 830 at fastest speed while recording another program and have it respond when you press play?

On my 630 I can't go more than 2 arrows or it will run all the way back to the beginning of the recording.


Yes it can fast forward and rewind 3 speed
noah12 is offline  
post #157 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-13, 05:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 468
Quote:
On my 630 I can't go more than 2 arrows or it will run all the way back to the beginning of the recording.
One thing that they have implemented (new to me) is that you can dial in a number of minutes and then hit skip both forward and backwards. It is great for navigating around recorded tennis matches.
kcowan is offline  
post #158 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-13, 11:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,379
if you are talking about entering say 47 and then the play button and jumping to 47 minute mark or 124 and then play for 2 hrs and 4 minutes then the 630 does this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #159 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-14, 11:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,117
That feature has been on the 630 for years, probably since day one. I wish other PVRs had the same feature.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #160 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-15, 08:49 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 476
Lightbulb Peach Tree Major Crimes

I use the "jump" feature with the Peach Tree channel "Major Crimes" show. Peach Tree runs 2 episodes one after other. The first showing STARTS 30 sooner than the guide indicates. I have to set the show to start 30 minutes early. The second show automatically also starts 30 minutes early.

I use the jump feature with the second episode to jump ahead 30 minutes which was already included in the showing of the first episode.

It took us a while to figure out why "Major Crimes" always started 30 minutes earlier than the guide indicated.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #161 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-20, 05:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 468
I guess I never used it on my 630 because it had not worked on the 530. Thanks for tolerating my ignorance. I will use this for start ealrly and record late to overcome the Guide.
kcowan is offline  
post #162 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-21, 08:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 28
new 800 receiver issues

Hi, we had our new Shaw satellite installed on Saturday. Basic receiver, not PVR. While the tech was starting up the system, there immediately was an issue where the HDMI signal was not being seen by the TV. He exclaimed: Wow, that's weird....he switched the cable over to HDMI input #2 on the TV and all seemed OK. During the rest of that day, and every day after, we have seen the same problem occur. The TV says there is no HDMI signal, and it cuts out like that frequently after powering up the receiver, then seems OK for a bit, but can come back anytime and sometimes cuts out constantly. And sometimes it doesn't do it for several hours. Trying a different cable did not help. Any tips?

Also, a message keeps appearing that a software update is waiting to be downloaded. It allows you to hit Cancel which postpones the download. You can also start the download in the settings, and I tried that twice but after a few hours the status bar of the download was still at 0%, It also said that the download will occur automatically on Aug. 22. Are we supposed to leave the receiver ON 24/7 to allow the download or can it download if it's turned off at night with the remote?
In the settings it shows what the current firmware revision is, but I forgot to write it down, and won't be able to check it out until Wednesday night. I think the last number was a 3 but not certain.
Re: the first problem, if it continues past tomorrow night, we will call Shaw. Has anyone had similar experiences?
Skidood1 is offline  
post #163 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-21, 09:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,117
The download will occur when the receiver is "off." It is never really off just on standby. Firmware updates are typically done after the receiver is rebooted or in the early morning hours when it's not in use.

If the HDMI issue happens again, try turning the TV off for a few seconds and then back on. From my experience, it's best to turn the TV on last. Maybe that will help. The new firmware may also help.
Skidood1 likes this.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #164 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-30, 10:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 194
Does anyone know where the 8XX series gets it's time from? I noted on my mother-in-law's 830 (a replacement for a dead 630, though she chose to upgrade so it's not a free replacement) that the shows in the guide all start at xx:01. I can't find any time settings anywhere so my next best guess was that the time came from the network connection - wi-fi in this case. I can say that my guide is perfectly fine on my non-network connected 630. Does anyone know for sure?
CrispyPotato is offline  
post #165 of 310 (permalink) Old 2017-08-31, 01:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,117
The time is set by the satellite signal. Don't know the technical details. The regional time (EST, PST, etc) is set by Shaw Direct according to location information on the account. Any issues with incorrect time settings need to be rectified by contacting Shaw Direct.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome