New Firmware 50.25 - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 14Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-10-31, 11:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
Is Survivor set for all or just new airings. Also with the time change this weekend next weeks recordings will look strange until we get to Sunday. I suspect though thar Survivor is set for recodr all not just new.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-01, 08:32 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 78
No they are both set to record "NEW" episodes only.

These two shows at this same time slot take over 3 pages of the listing.
I also checked at midnight which when they are on again, survivor is set to tape and the masked singer is in conflict again.

There is a problem with the algorithm to create the recording list. I hope it gets corrected soon.

Nobody else records Survivor and Masked Singer to confirm this?
OlStatic is online now  
post #63 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-01, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 129
I have an 830 and i record both NEW survivor (higher priority) and masked singer but i have them both set to record a specific channel to avoid the problem you are explaining. You are correct, because to experiment i changed survivor from a specific channel to record only HD, and then then the pvr is set to record survivor on both tuners, with conflicts on about 20+ other channels and it will not be able to record masked singer either. If i change survivor back to one channel, then the problem is corrected. I believe the problem is that survivor doesn't appear to have a specific episode info shown for the upcoming episodes? Not sure, but maybe since all the upcoming airings just show Survivor the pvr thinks they are all NEW but different episodes? so it tries to record them all. Not sure this makes sense, but somehow, i think the pvr thinks they are all different NEW episodes. Odd because I have several episodes of survivor still on my 830 pvr and they all have the season/episode number showing, yet the next upcoming survivor episodes do not have the season/episode number showing. I believe something in the background information, is making the pvr believe that these NEW survivor episodes are all different even though they are new, and that is why it would try and record it at the same time on multiple channels. If it was correct, then if you select NEW episodes on HD only, and a show airs on multiple channels at the same time, it will select one channel for you, and if the same episode of the show is on another channel at the same time, you will see that blue symbol telling you that this episode is scheduled to be recorded on another channel. I am assuming that if the episode information for survivor gets updated before next wednesday, the pvr will be smart enough to correct itself and only record the episode on one channel. If not, then maybe just select a specific channel for Survivor and it should help your problem.

Again hope this makes sense, but the problem is certainly in the episode information so that the pvr knows these NEW episodes are all the same NEW episodes.
LONSat likes this.
Billy34 is offline  
 
post #64 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-01, 10:24 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
@Billy34 is probably correct. If the episode information is not there it will mess up the algorithm. His work around is good but should there be a problem with the initial recording be aware it won't try to rerecord in a later slot unless it happens to be on the same channel.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #65 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-01, 09:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 129
i have noticed this happen with survivor before, so perhaps it will update the episode information before next wednesday, and if so it may correct itself so the record NEW episodes on HD only should work like it should. If not, maybe you can cancel one of the duplicate recording set the recording you want manually for that day, or use the timeshift and recording the missing show at a later/earlier time if available or VOD as last option.
Billy34 is offline  
post #66 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-11, 12:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 511
Separate Clocks and Not Available Non-PVR Receivers

It seems that manual timers keep a separate clock from the main clock of the satellite receiver - guide etc. Why did they design it that way? It makes no sense.

The switch between Daylight Savings Time and Standard Time screws up my manual timers. The guide times change with the switch, but not the manual timers. I have to reprogram all of them and I have a lot of them. It would be great if the guide on my HDDSR600 could be used like the PVR for recording purposes.

I know that there will be no updates for the 600 series. It appears that Shaw Direct only offer the PVR 830 as its only receiver, at least that is what I see on the SD website under COMPARE.

Will Shaw Direct offer a basic receiver in future, i.e. not a PVR?
RuralRouter is offline  
post #67 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-11, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
There is also an 800 receiver available as a replacement for the 600. Re manual timers, yes you have to do a little work but typically not reprogram them totally. You need to look at the individually and then use the back button to back out. They should reset to the correct time without having to edit start and end times.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #68 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-11, 01:02 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 511
I tried to change the times, but the timer would not fire with a date starting in the past. I have erased all the timers and started over. The WEEKDAY is complicated since my timers start after midnight and the week-end shows are different. I hope I will remember the SELECT TIMER and just hit the GO BACK button this spring. Thanks for the tip.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #69 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-11, 03:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
If you have back to back timers just remember to sequence the changes properly. In the fall start with the earliest and do the edit/go back sequence and move your way forward through the timers. In the spring start the edit with the latest timer if it is back to back with another.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #70 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-11, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 511
Good Advice

I hope that I will remember this good advice. Maybe my wife and I together will have one memory of this.

" In the spring start the edit with the latest timer if it is back to back with another. "
RuralRouter is offline  
post #71 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-13, 01:00 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
RR are you sure your manual timers don't work? Ours said they had the wrong time after the switch but they actually started right. Its like they knew what the time was even though they showed it wrong.
Bayguy is offline  
post #72 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-13, 09:07 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 511
Bayguy, they didn't work. That is how we learned that the timers were 1 hour off.
I am going to do my best to remember LONsat's tip, but I will probably be posting the same thing next time shift and hopefully you guys will tolerate my forgetfulness .
RuralRouter is offline  
post #73 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-13, 12:07 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
OKay, sorry they didn't work and you have to do them all again.
Bayguy is offline  
post #74 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-13, 01:30 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 511
Coding Error - Manual Timers

It is my understanding that the 830 manual timers have the same daylight savings problem as the 630. I think it is a programming error not to have "Options" automatically updating like the PVR recordings to show the proper time for each timer.

Unavailable 800 non-pvr receivers at Shaw Direct per
https://www.shawdirect.ca/english/eq...are-receivers/
RuralRouter is offline  
post #75 of 76 (permalink) Old 2019-11-13, 02:43 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 178
Correct - manual timers are relatively "unsupported" (not really the right word...). We haven't been given a good, true use case for them over the "smart" features, so the high (and I mean high) level of effort to account for DST changes isn't worth it among other priorities in the funnel. I understand you find them useful, but the amount of users of them overall is extremely low, sorry.
RuralRouter likes this.
k801809 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome