Receivers programmed with Triple xkuLNB Backwards Compatible ? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-08-06, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Receivers programmed with Triple xkuLNB Backwards Compatible ?

Hi,

Does anyone know or has it been answered; would a receiver programmed with the channel map for a Triple xkuLNB be backwards compatible with a dish that has a dual kuLNB ?

Would you still get the channels on Anik F1 and F2 with channels on Anik G1 simply saying no signal ?

thanks
Geigs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-08-06, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,434
The code the receiver uses has to use to match the type of LNB being used. If you are paying for a second location like a cottage both sites have to have the same LNB. Shaw will not program the receivers based on the type of LNB in use at the second location. If you are asking because you are account sharing that is against the terms of service for Shaw and can not be discussed here.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-08-06, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
No, I have two dishes at the same location, one has a xkuLNB the other a kuLNB. I have two older receivers hooked up to the xkuLNB and want to move them over to the kuLNB dish to make room for some new receivers. Yes shaw will program receivers individually (at the same location) because I have a receiver programmed on my kuLNB dish now.

Ok so if I move the two receivers programmed on the xkuLNB dish over to my kuLNB dish no channels will were work at all on them ?
Geigs is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-08-06, 05:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,434
You will have to give shaw a call to get a rehit for the correct codes to match the receiver to the LNB. Be prepared the person at the other end may be suspicious why you have two dishes with different LNBs. If you are going to move receivers around in the future it may be easier to get both dishes to have the same LNB. A get them programmed just once and be done with it. Either that or you need a 5x8 multiswitch to increase the number of outputs from your dish.

LONSat

Last edited by LONSat; 2015-08-06 at 05:41 PM. Reason: Added some more info
LONSat is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-08-06, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Ok thanks, yeah if I had another xkulnb it wouldn't be a problem.
Geigs is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome