Shaw Direct Programming/Pricing Discussions - Page 27 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 240Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #391 of 456 (permalink) Old 2018-12-09, 01:46 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,147
agreed - the web site is an absolute disaster. itís really meant to confuse people - thereís really no other reasonable explanation. The only way I made sense was by printing out sections and making notes. Even then, itís a fail...
tvmaster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 04:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 476
Question Already Subscribed, but ... Not Subscribed ???

For many years I have subscribed for the US Nets East and West. Today I online chatted with Shaw Direct. I want to switch from Spokane to Seattle or at least try it out.

I have learned to be careful so I asked if it would change by monthly bill to switch. I was told that I do not subscribe to the timeshift bundle: it would cost me an additional 8$ (not $8) to subscribe to the timeshift bundle.

No thanks, I said.

I am confused or they are confused or are we both confused????
RuralRouter is offline  
post #393 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
I think if you're confused, the fault's with them.

As I understand it (because this timeshift bundle was a MAJOR point for me when I was trying to reduce my rate a few months prior), depending on your package, the timeshift bundle could cost up to $8 extra. Maybe with your package, the U.S. networks were included in a grandfathered way? I don't know. But the timeshift is more than just the U.S. networks and maybe if you change location for the U.S. networks, they make it an all or nothing.

On the good side, there is a deal where they will give you six months of the timeshift package at 99 cents per month: https://myfriend.shawdirect.ca/engli.../timeshift.asp
TheHans is offline  
 
post #394 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 05:19 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 751
I get Spokane in Standard Def and Seattle in HD. Is Spokane available in HD now?
NovaMan is online now  
post #395 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 05:38 PM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaMan View Post
I get Spokane in Standard Def and Seattle in HD. Is Spokane available in HD now?
I get it on 205 (Classic)
NovaMan likes this.
goalsgo is offline  
post #396 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 06:29 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,147
least expensive programming package which includes reveiver warranty

Now that Shaw has changed all the packages many times since my grandfathered Titanium package took root, what is the current, LEAST EXPENSIVE Shaw Direct package which includes the multiple receiver warranty? In the old days, the lower packages didn't include the warranty.
tvmaster is online now  
post #397 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by goalsgo View Post
I get it on 205 (Classic)
Yes, I do too. I was wondering about CBS, NBC, Fox and ABC in HD. Thanks!
NovaMan is online now  
post #398 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 10:06 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 80 KM NW of Edmonton
Posts: 84
According to Shaw Direct, Spokane commercial stations are not converting to HD with the SD versions dropped on August 15.
NovaMan likes this.
bubbaspeed is offline  
post #399 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-19, 10:14 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,218
@tvmaster Limited TV for $25 is the only current package that charges a Multi-Receiver Fee.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #400 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-20, 01:04 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dave View Post
@tvmaster Limited TV for $25 is the only current package that charges a Multi-Receiver Fee.
Ok, thanks. My grandfathered package has gone sky high in price, so itís time to re-evaluate...
tvmaster is online now  
post #401 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-01-20, 06:04 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 476
Question Grandfathered

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHans View Post
... Maybe with your package, the U.S. networks were included in a grandfathered way? I don't know. But the timeshift is more than just the U.S. networks and maybe if you change location for the U.S. networks, they make it an all or nothing....
I live in Ontario. I have had what was termed "US Nets - East & West" as part of a Platinum package for 14 Years. I would not be changing much, just the West Coat PBS from one station to another. Doesn't seem fair if it would change my total billing.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #402 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-03-14, 02:09 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
I finally realized that SD had been basically ripping me off for who knows how long. Switching to TV large with added packages to replicate what I had was an instant $30-40 savings if I recall correctly. The rep said it's my responsibility to manage my programming, which is true. But they know people won't look into it very often and continue to bill at a higher rate.

I ended saving even more later by going to TV medium, picked my 30 faves, added HBO Crave, and now have everything I had before (or shall I say "watched") and cleaned up my guide without the useless channels I use to pay for but never tune in.
RuralRouter likes this.
oil99 is offline  
post #403 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-06-04, 06:05 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,147
I currently pay my monthly Shaw Direct bill with an automated credit card withdrawl. Does anyone pay using AUTOMATED methods besides a credit card, and if so, HOW?
tvmaster is online now  
post #404 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-06-04, 06:10 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, heart of corruption
Posts: 449
There are a few bill-payment websites; I used to use one long ago. TelPay.ca; it was great. Newer sites like paytm.ca, also with no fees, I have not used.

I've been using my bank to auto-pay right out of my account. That is fine except about twice a year, when Shaw raises their rates. So I adjust my auto-pay schedule and end up paying twice in the same month. Then I skip a month, and then I get a bill saying I've missed a month.

Now I just use a calendar reminder of when to pay, check my bill, and do it manually. Ridiculous.

... Mike

Last edited by MikeDRiley; 2019-06-04 at 06:57 PM.
MikeDRiley is online now  
post #405 of 456 (permalink) Old 2019-06-04, 07:56 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,147
So you can set Shaw Direct up as an automated payee directly from your bank - much like a debit card, except automated? Does that avoid any bank fees?
tvmaster is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome