Shaw Direct Programming/Pricing Discussions - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 238Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milton
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by TB4XSBW View Post
^^Does anyone with Digital Advantage have an answer for this? I would assume the lack of Sportsnet 360 in Digital Advantage on their website is just an error, since @SD 630 Support stated that HD Sports (which contains Sportsnet 360) is included in Digital Advantage, but I just want to make sure.
yes it does. I have that package.
jokeDR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 02:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 29
Thanks @jokeDR .
TB4XSBW is offline  
post #153 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 07:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 29
Just subscribed to Digital Advantage in Ontario and not only do I not have Sportsnet 360, but I don't have HD Sports like @SD 630 Support said I would.
TB4XSBW is offline  
 
post #154 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 09:30 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milton
Posts: 721
I would try refreshing the receiver...if that doesn't work, then contact them.
jokeDR is offline  
post #155 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 10:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 29
I reset the receiver and still nothing. I'm trying to find on their website where it specifically says Sportsnet 360 and HD Sports is included in Digital Advantage like @SD 630 Support claimed, but I don't see it. However, HD Sports can't be added as a bundle. Weird.
TB4XSBW is offline  
post #156 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-03, 09:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
Does anybody have the complete CRTC Mandatory Distribution List for Skinny Basic? I was told by Shaw Direct that CBC Newsworld is on that list but not the french equivalent RDI. So I have to pay $15 more if I want it, because it's part of the pick5 package. There also the TSN vs RDS inequity. In English, you get 8 channels for your $8 TSN bundle (Golf and OLN are thrown in). In French, it's 2 channels for $8 (RDS & RDS2).

EDIT: RDI is included outside Québec. CBC NN is included only in Québec. Some kind of a minority language order from the CRTC. I guess the question is now why are news networks not compulsory in both official languages?

Last edited by dosgringos; 2016-03-03 at 10:08 AM. Reason: Found info on RDI/CBC NN
dosgringos is offline  
post #157 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-03, 10:00 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,934
The CRTC mandatory list depends where you live. Some channels are included for official language minority communities. CBC News Network is mandatory in French-language markets, but cannot be in Skinny Basic in the rest of Canada. RDI is the reverse.

EDIT - Here is the list:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/12-t...ml#post2691105
dosgringos likes this.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2016-03-03 at 10:20 AM.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #158 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-03, 10:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 29
I ended up talking to someone via chat support and everything is resolved now. I have SN360 and HD Sports.
TB4XSBW is offline  
post #159 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-03, 06:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 66
Is there a way to see the channels of my exisiting package so that I can compare and see what channels are lost?

I stil dont see FX anywhere.
OlStatic is online now  
post #160 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-03, 08:30 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,462
Shaw chat or the 1-800 number should be able to help you.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #161 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-03, 09:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
FX still remains in free preview mode. It has been in preview mode since it launched on SD 3 or 4 years ago. Everyone should still be getting it.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #162 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-05, 07:46 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 35
I have read most of the post in this thread and can figure out what is happening with being able to choose channels in both languages. I tried the configurator on Shaw Web site, and when you switch language you loose your previous selection. I don't seem to be able to chose channels in both languages.

I have been waiting for this Pick and Pay for years and it is such a disappointment from what I can read and tell up to now... I should have known better, not the first time that this happens with them. Programming options and bundles have always been difficult to get true choices,
Legonet is offline  
post #163 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-05, 08:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
From what I understand the full pick and pay option pkgs come into effect later in the year. The skinny basic was the 1st thing to launch. I see when you are on SDs web site in theme packs there is a few more options but perhaps not what you are looking for.
sawguyg is offline  
post #164 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-12, 11:28 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlStatic View Post
I stil dont see FX anywhere.
If you want it in Limited TV, select "+ Pick 5 Channels" (or higher). It is in alphabetical order after Food Network.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #165 of 449 (permalink) Old 2016-03-12, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lévis Qc
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dave View Post
If you want it in Limited TV, select "+ Pick 5 Channels" (or higher). It is in alphabetical order after Food Network.
Will it be possible to choose english and french channel at the same time?
gbaudio is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome