Shaw Direct Channel Discussion Thread - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 168Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-02-20, 12:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 468
I wonder if they are waiting for consumer reaction to pick and pay? Maybe their basic offering will be in SD only (to be fair to cross-Canada subscribers).
kcowan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-02-22, 07:53 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 194
I find it interesting I can get CTV2 HD on the Freerange app but not via my TV. Bugger all use to me cause my internet is only 3 Meg (it's all we can get here out in the sticks due to congestion on the microwave links) but still...
CrispyPotato is offline  
post #123 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-01, 06:57 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 194
I note that now that The Movie Network is national, eastern customers of Shaw Direct can't get TMN 2 HD whereas western customers can. Yes, I know that most of the content is recycled over the three channels, but that's hardly the point. We've never had the full HD lline-up for Move Network in the east, and now it's national, western Canada gets it all. Hardly fair for those who've been paying subs. Not only that, I bet it's the same price too! Oh, and only two free previews - FX, which is always on free preview, and Telemagino HD. Channel numbering for the movie channels is completely bizarre. Instead of shoe-horning into existing spaces, can't they move things around properly? Oh, and SD are still promoting Movie Central on their website, despite me having my location set. Great coding there! *clap clap clap* Can you tell I'm not impressed? If my wife wasn't so dead set against Bell, I'd be seriously considering it. Having said that, I'm told their HD isn't as sharp, and sometimes it's better the devil you know...
CrispyPotato is offline  
 
post #124 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-01, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
Just go on the Bell page of this forum it is not without issues....LOL
sawguyg is offline  
post #125 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 01:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,139
Can anyone comment on the availability of TMN channels now that Movie Central is shutdown?

I'm curious if TMN subscribers in the east and west now get the same amount of feeds.
bigoranget is offline  
post #126 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,377
In StdD TMN1 2 and 3 appear in the same locations TMN4 appears out of sequence and I am assuming it is the position of MC1.

In HD I only see TMN1 and TMN3 and didn't see anything of the old MC1 through 3 in my channel map. I will check again tonight but didn't watch a lot of live TV last night because the freezing rain killed my signal. I know my dish needs some alignment but that is just an aside. What is now TMN2 was not offered in HD on Shaw Direct.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #127 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,465
In the West, TMN1 East in HD and SD were added to those who subscribe to the old movie central package [not including encore avenue]. TMN3 East HD&SD still shows unsubscribed. TMN2 East SD is also showing unsubscribed.
magnet is offline  
post #128 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-02, 11:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 70
Where is the FX channel? Cant see it in any of the packages.
OlStatic is offline  
post #129 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-07, 08:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,051
Can anyone confirm if CP24 channel is available in HD on Shaw direct.
bev fan is online now  
post #130 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-07, 08:38 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 194
No, CP24 only in SD sadly. Shaw Direct are pretty behind on their HD channel count, especially speciality channels.
CrispyPotato is offline  
post #131 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-07, 08:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlStatic View Post
Where is the FX channel? Cant see it in any of the packages.
334 / 590 (both HD) on the Advanced line-up.
CrispyPotato is offline  
post #132 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-07, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 131
Shaw Direct blacked out the Leaf game for me tonight on TSN by mistake, one minute left in the game and they still haven't caught on.
studlygoorite is offline  
post #133 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-08, 11:43 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrispyPotato View Post
No, CP24 only in SD sadly. Shaw Direct are pretty behind on their HD channel count, especially speciality channels.
Agreed. There are numerous channels available in HD that Shaw Direct does not carry. CP24, OLN, CMT, Comedy West, History West, YTV West, W West, all CTV2 Channels. There are probably others I've missed.
cableredneck is offline  
post #134 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-08, 02:31 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milton
Posts: 721
^^^ Spike TV, BNN, Bloomberg, Peachtree TV, Fight Network......all are standard def only.
jokeDR is offline  
post #135 of 986 (permalink) Old 2016-03-08, 02:44 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 326
Thanks, I knew I left some out.
cableredneck is offline  
Reply

Tags
cw network , hd channels , new channels , shaw direct , superstations , wgn

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome