Shaw Direct Channel Discussion Thread - Page 53 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 124Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #781 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 03:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,309
From what I heard APTN W was a late addition by Shaw broadcast and I believe will be added to the lineup.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 04:34 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,116
I’ve now seen both my 603 & 605 reset more than once in the last 24 hours, once each in the middle of the morning today. Does this have something to do worth the June 11 channel map fiasco? Anyone else see this happen today?
tvmaster is online now  
post #783 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 07:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,309
No prolem here on 630 or 605. Not sure what you mean by map fiasco?

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
 
post #784 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 08:17 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 450
630 restarts

Our 630 has been resetting also; we hoped it wasn't the internal HD. Maybe Shaw related???
Unrelated: The new external drive always successfully reconnects.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
...I’ve now seen both my 603 & 605 reset more than once in the last 24 hours...
RuralRouter is online now  
post #785 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 10:18 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 119
Oof - yes, we were having 6XX reboot problems yesterday but I thought they were fixed as agents stopped reporting it after we made some changes. It is map related, but not new lineup related. We had the premium sports channels removed from the Guides yesterday which caused some unexpected side effects.

It's a map by map problem, so we'll just have to work through reloading them all today.
tvmaster and RuralRouter like this.
k801809 is offline  
post #786 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 10:19 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,116
By fiasco, I mean the setting deadlines for certain subs, sending emails, then changing their minds until fall. For all I know maybe the Shaw Direct computers ARE automatically sending out change commands to certain boxes. One thing’s for sure - I seriously question any tech email I now get from Shaw...
tvmaster is online now  
post #787 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by k801809 View Post
Oof - yes, we were having 6XX reboot problems yesterday but I thought they were fixed as agents stopped reporting it after we made some changes. It is map related, but not new lineup related. We had the premium sports channels removed from the Guides yesterday which caused some unexpected side effects.

It's a map by map problem, so we'll just have to work through reloading them all today.
okay, thanks. It did seem damn odd, rebooting in the middle of World Cup soccer. If it had been the men’s tourney, your phones would be ringing much more....
tvmaster is online now  
post #788 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 10:31 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 119
I can confirm 100% that we're not automatically changing anyone over - I would have had to set it up myself =)

The Channel Lineup launch date was decided on before other priorities came up and it was really the only thing that could have shifted without much consequence. I apologize I changed the date on you, sometimes these things happen unfortunately.
k801809 is offline  
post #789 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,116
No need to apologize - First World problems, right? If this is today’s ‘hardship’, I’m a fortunate guy....
Bayguy and k801809 like this.
tvmaster is online now  
post #790 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 450
The Rural Channel

Will "The Rural Channel" channel 385 become an HD channel?
RuralRouter is online now  
post #791 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,309
EastLink carries it in HD so I would think they would try to get the HD feed as well.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #792 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 119
Yes! Rural is on the list, for the last bunch of HD upgrades coming in early 2020.
RuralRouter likes this.
k801809 is offline  
post #793 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-14, 07:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 119
National Channel Lineup

What exactly is the schedule for Shaw converting customers to the one National Lineup. I heard that they have advanced customers and classic customers auto converting, but when? exactly. Has anyone here been converted yet.
I personally like the idea, as having different channels lineups to means seems strange;

I have tried to hide the Standard Def channels if there is an HD equivalent, but that is a pain...
Billy34 is offline  
post #794 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-14, 08:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
you can call or chat with them online and ask for it right now the new lineup is available right now ( i have it) but it's the automatic upgrade to it that's been postponed to fall
harlock76 is offline  
post #795 of 854 (permalink) Old 2019-06-14, 09:39 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 119
Harlock76 is correct - the original plan was to migrate Advanced customers this week, but that has been postponed to November. You can opt in by calling or chatting in (chat recommended) - the change should only take a couple of minutes.
k801809 is offline  
Reply

Tags
cw network , hd channels , new channels , shaw direct , superstations , wgn

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome