Pole Mount - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-12, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 415
Pole Mount

what diameter of a pole do I need for a 60e ? I also amy having a hell of a time finding a steel one. Anyone know where I could buy one ? I've tried home depot and Canadian tire
Danny001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-12, 11:06 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Calgary - Shaw phone/internet, OTA attic / Pigeon Lake - CCI Wireless, VoIP.ms, OTA, FTA, LTSS
Posts: 810
The mount on a 60e should fit on a post in the range of 1 1/2 inches to 1 7/8 outside diameter.

A piece of chain link fence top rail should work, a chain link fence post will likely be too big for your mount.

The link below is posted as an example only - it is not meant to be a "Where to Buy".

http://www.lowes.ca/chain-link-fence..._g1192707.html
envirogeek is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-19, 05:55 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Chain link "line post" are the correct ones they usually come in 6' or 7' at most home improvement stores. the top rail will be to small and you will never be able to tighten the dish. the corner posts are too big and dish will not fit it. don't forget to put a spike through the pipe where it goes in the concrete to prevent the pipe from spinning in the concrete when It dries. (don't ask me how i know that)
a1canuck is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-19, 10:09 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48
pole

you could also try a muffler shop. they can supply or build just about any size pipe or adaptor. If it's not galvenized, you will have to paint it.
waldo617211 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-25, 07:42 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
Danny001

I know you are way up North, so make sure your pole is at least 4 feet in the ground.

I did a repair in southern Ontario for a DirecTV dish mounted on a pole in the backyard. When I grabbed the pole to check the stability, it moved at the base.

Turns out it was only 18 inches deep.

I had to re-do it, dug out a 4 foot hole, and cemented it it place.

It worked great and has survived two Winters.
46FD04 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-27, 12:37 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 847
I guess you don't get perma frost in Ajax. 4' would be a tough hole to dig
smp01 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-08-28, 12:40 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
No problem at all when you use the right tools
46FD04 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2014-09-06, 05:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 511
So glad I found this post. Installing on my condo's north-facing patio, but can get 6-ft pole to get the dish pointed over the pitch of the roof
frenchophile is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome