85cm Round Dish + Linear LNB for Shaw Direct? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-18, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Smile 85cm Round Dish + Linear LNB for Shaw Direct?

I have had Shaw Direct for about a year now. The 60cm eliptical dish has the new xKu LNB and I have PVR630 and HD600 boxes. The mapping of the STBs are 4321.

I want to be able to watch hockey out on the campsite in May. I only need CBC and TSN feeds which are on AnikF1 and F2 and dont necessarily need channels off the new G1 satellite.

I have an 85cm round dish and generic linear LNB. Can I use these with my SD boxes? I have some FTA experience and have used this combination before. I understand that I will only be able to use one satellite at a time, and unless I want to keep rotating the LNB, can only get either vertical or horizontal channels at once.

What I dont understand is SD mapping/v-code issue. Is channel mapping and v-code the same thing? It is my understanding that the SD boxes mapping must match the LNB meaning I need to buy a second xKu LNB. I think the mapping/v-code of the LNB must match the boxes or they will not work. Is this correct? Does that mean that I can never use the generic linerar LNB with SD boxes? If I need an SD LNB, can I get away with a used xKu LNB? What about a used regular non-xKu LNB without asking Shaw to remap (which I understand they will not)?

Any input would be much appreciated ... playoffs start in 2 months!!!
Blackhawks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-18, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Calgary - Shaw phone/internet, OTA attic / Pigeon Lake - CCI Wireless, VoIP.ms, OTA, FTA, LTSS
Posts: 810
With all the gymnastics involved to set this up on an FTA configuration these days, it might be best to just keep your eyes open for a used ShawDirect dish with an xKu.

Do you want to flip between games on TSN and CBC?

With equipment you have today, do you have 2 linear LNBs, a 22 khz switch and a dual lnb mount that can handle 4 degree sat separation for the dish?

When you really want to watch a game, do you want to be messing with a dish?

With the standard dish you could find a location with line of sight at your campsite, plumb a tripod, plug your location into dishpointer, adjust the dish for the angles in dishpointer and you're done.
envirogeek is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-18, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Enviro - I totally agree, buying a SD dish c/w xKu would be the easy answer! Realistically, it would be tuned to CBC and left there. However, I never do the things the easy way I guess what I am saying, is it possible to do? Is it possible to use the generic linear LNB with my SD boxes? Or is this mapping/v-code stuff going to prevent me?
Blackhawks is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-23, 06:14 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
When you say SD boxes, do you mean Standard Def'n or Shaw Direct?

As a Shaw installer, I can tell you that all of the receivers attached to your account will be programmed for your 60E elliptical dish and xKu LNB.

The easiest thing to do is replace the old round dish with another Shaw dish.
46FD04 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-23, 07:28 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
I have a feeling the OP could just get away with using OTA instead no if its just for CBC and NBC? I don't think he wants or intends to buy a dish just for a few days and have it end up living back in the garage if you know what I mean.
m3repair is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-24, 01:09 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
m3repair,

Depending on where Blackhawk's campsite is located, OTA TV may not be available.
46FD04 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-02-26, 03:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,657
TSN isn't OTA is it?
He mentions a desire to switch between CBC and TSN. Never mentioned NBC.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome