HD picture quality? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2014-01-11, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 468
HD picture quality?

Hi all-

I have been a SD customer for about 12 years now, I have had HD since day one of the 530. Recently I have noticed a real change in the HD picture quality- aside from the macro blocking on CityHd and Global- I usually record on the west US HD feeds to avoid these channels.

Lately I have noticed a 'darkening' of the picture quality and a sense of digital movements in images that I never noticed before. Nothing has changed in my set up- I have a Panasonic VT65 plasma- prior to November I was wholly satisfied.

My thoughts- is SD compressing their signal more and more and downgrading their 1080 to more like 720?

Case in point- I watched an episode of 'Agents of Shield' (no comments on my taste please! ) on Hulu plus through my WD box and couldnt believe the picture quality compared to Shaw Direct.

Has anyone else noticed a recent degrade or is it just my perception?

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2014-01-11, 09:46 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 244
It's not just you. I can't remember the shows but they were City simsubs and I thought man that picture is much darker than normal and just chalked it up to crappy simsub standards we have to put up with at the time. Have to see if it continues moving forward.
gonkster is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2014-01-11, 09:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
City HD has always been bad since it was added to Shaw Direct. I'm on Rogers Cable now and have noticed a vast improvement in PQ with City HD. As far as Global HD I don't really watch anything on Global.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2014-01-13, 08:33 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North of TO
Posts: 1,010
CTV HD Toronto is also bad.....

Is this a bandwidth issue?
rob1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome