Pixelation - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2013-12-18, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 608
Pixelation

Any one know how to reduce the amount of pixelation?
I have been seeing a lot of artifacts on some of the HD channels on my plasma TV, not so much on my LCD and none on my LED TV.
I am using the DSR600 with HDMI.
For example when 'The Voice' was on you would see pixelation clearly on the faces and in the background.
Could it be there because of a setting on my TV? Like contrast or sharpness may be to high?

I did switch inputs to the OTA feed and the picture was beautiful but then when I switched back to the DSR600 there where the blocks.
The signal level was strong though coming in.
robman50a is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2013-12-18, 05:10 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,248
I assume you're talking about macroblocking. An appropriate optimization of the TV can minimize macroblocking by turning down the sharpness, using the proper picture mode, etc.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76161 Optimization

Acronyms, Definitions.http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17715

Macroblocking and SD: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=131247

The OTA feed does likely have less compression and therefore less macroblocking.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2013-12-18, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 608
Well I noticed that the quality of Cogeco compared to Shaw Direct was a huge difference. On cable there where blocks on every channel and I have learned that was due to the compression on the CATV system. With SD the picture is way more better and there are hardly ever any blocks.
robman50a is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2013-12-18, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 608
I understand now, thank you 57. It is indeed macroblocking (example 'The Voice') . Now I also know that pixalation is those colourful blocks on my screen when I got the OTA feed on and the weather is bad.
robman50a is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-01-21, 11:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sault Ste Marie
Posts: 86
Angry Pixelating????

Has anyone noticed an increase to pix-elating lately?

Wow my 630 is really bad. It is especially noticed when;

Changing channels. It is like it is not on the station. When I hit "Recall" and then go back it is okay?

When recording one feed and watching another. When the recording starts the channel I am watching starts to pix-elate.

Recorded shows are badly pix-elated when they are being watched?

What the hell is going on with SD? The dish has been recently re-aligned and current strengths are in the 90+ range with ECB at 9-10. From what I understand these are good numbers.

Man I am sooooo fed up with this provider it is a good thing they are not within driving distance as I would really like to talk to the morons that are running this outfit.

We should pick a date in March where we all call to cancel our contracts to see if they realize who the real foundation of this business is!!
thundercraft is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-01-21, 11:46 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,248
I've moved your post to this previous thread on the topic. Pixellation is a result of a poor signal. Macroblocking is a result of compression artifacts as discussed in post 2. Others may feel free to comment.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2014-01-23, 09:30 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 847
I was a victim of a lot of pixelation back when it was popular. I have not changed anything and I have not noticed any problems with this in a number of months now.
smp01 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome