Order a PPV With A Remote Control - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 11:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
Order a PPV With A Remote Control

I tried following Shaw's directions "to activate your Instant Pay Per View account" on a 630:

https://secure.shawdirect.ca/english...v.asp#activate

Three separate phone calls to customer support and 3 failed attempts to get a report back under options 4-3-3.

The fourth call was escalated to technical support. You can not order a PPV with your remote if you have a XKU LNB, you have to phone your request in to Shaw.

You would think Shaw would update their CSR's and website.
Mike P. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 11:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
You had it hooked up to a live phone line? We've done it multiple times this way - not too sure why it would cause you any issue. I'm pretty sure there would be no difference between the 605 and 630 in reference to instant PPV.
SomeTech is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 11:51 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
Yes, the phone line is live. But regardless, you can't order a PPV with a remote if you have a XKU LNB.
Mike P. is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 12:08 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63
Not true. We do it all the time. 630 with xKu LNB.
updateanchor is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 12:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
Yeah, we have xKu and are able to at will with any of our receivers. I know that we definitely have xKu, seeing as I did the full installation - hah.

I'd contact Shaw and tell them that their technical department is smoking something pretty herbal. There should be no issue, and they might just be covering up for a faulty modem or something of the sort.
SomeTech is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
Thanks for the head up. I'll try again.
Mike P. is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
A lot of the technicians are new and don't know about issues that are not in their database. They tend to try and fabricate and explanation rather than telling customers that they haven't the foggiest about what they're talking about.

If you want to PM me your phone number or account number, I'll pass it off to your province's supervisor so they can call you and get a better understanding of the issue.

Cheers.
SomeTech is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
Thanks for the offer, PM sent.
Mike P. is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 02:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
I sent off your information to a field supervisor for your province - just waiting for a reply. Hopefully you should hear from someone within the next day or so.

Cheers!
SomeTech is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
Well, here's all the information I can give from the reply:

1) With the 9.22 software version customers are not able to order via the phone line on a 630. They would need to call it in or use VOD if it’s set up.

2) At this time the call centre representatives are correct. Unfortunately, not much can be done until a fix is found.

So, it looks like we will see a fix coming within the next few months. There doesn't seem to be an issue with the 605, but the 630 is having an issue with the software.

If any other information is passed down, I'll make sure to let you know.

Sorry that I could not be of much help!
SomeTech is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
You were a great help, thanks! Now we know the "Instant Pay Per View" can be activated on a 605 but not on a 630 until a fix is found. Accurate information is what we need and you got it for the forum members.
Mike P. is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-30, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63
To prove the point, I just paid $6.99 and ordered the GI Joe movie on Channel 965 on my 630 receiver running 9.22 software version. I am watching it and recording it. I don't have VOD set up.
updateanchor is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-30, 07:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vanderhoof, BC, Canada
Posts: 16
I was told by a call centre rep that channels 960 to 966 can still be ordered by remote but above that you will need to phone in.
hobocreek is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-31, 10:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
I'm going to get a little more information on this. I'll see if there's a date to figure out when channels other than 960 to 966 can be order. That's a little insane.

Software issue or not for the higher channels, it's really not acceptable.
SomeTech is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-08-31, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
Since it's been proven you can "activate your Instant Pay Per View account" on a 630 and order PPV's on channels 960 to 966 then obviously my 630 has issues. All 4 attempts of Shaw to send a signal to activate the Instant Pay Per View have failed to get a report back under options 4-3-3. I disconnected the phone line from the 630 and connected it to a phone and got a dial tone so the issue is not the phone line. It appears a 630 replacement is in order.
Mike P. is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome