Splitting Signal - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-07-16, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 47
Splitting Signal

I have two receivers a 505 and 605 and want to split the output from one receiver to other TV locations in the house ... how do I do this? It would be nice if there was a f-connector output.
moodie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-07-16, 08:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,455
The 505 has RF modulator CH 3/4 output.

The 605 does not, you need an RF modulator with it.

The 600 does have RF out, but lacks UHF remote.

You can split and send component or HDMI to other locations. I would consider getting a 600 for that other TV if that is acceptable.
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-07-17, 08:01 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 849
All of the outputs on all of the SD receivers are active. So if you can pick one output for the local tv. maybe you could run another connection for the remote tv.

But given the cost of longer runs of some of these cables, as classicsat said, I would also consider getting 600 for the remote TV
smp01 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-07-17, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 78
Third time's a charm, and I agree as well that you should consider getting a 600 for the other TV - or check to see if your local Shaw retailer has any refurbished 605s for sale - they're anywhere from $49.99 to $69.99 at locations.

The costs associated with bringing the signal into another area (especially if you want to actually receive an HD image) will at minimum be on par with buying a new receiver and running a line. The up side to having a separate receiver in another location is that you will be able to watch different channels on each, rather than the exact same thing.
SomeTech is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome