DSR 315 issues - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-07-02, 07:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 126
DSR 315 issues

Anyone still have one of these puppies? The one we have for our refrigerator-top TV has been giving me issues ever since we got it a few years ago for another failing receiver. When it was first hooked up, the satellite indicator flashed non-stop. The technician who activated it said it was normal and to ignore it. After the guide populated, I couldn't change channels so I called back in and a second technician had me re-set it. Well ever since then, it has been doing the same thing but at very strange intervals. I will check and the indicator is flashing so I either have to do a front panel reset... or completely unplug it... and then eventually it will settle down. When the indicator is flashing, I can view the channel I am on, but can't change the channel or even bring up the guide. Sometimes a reset is good for fifteen minutes... sometimes it is good for weeks on end. Anyone experience anything similar?
meandher57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-07-02, 08:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
I have and still use one (downcycled it to work room , from full time duty as a TiVo source). It should or may briefly change to red when you change channels and switch and stay green as the signal locks.

If it is constantly blinking, you have a signal problem or the receiver is faulty (I have a dodgy 301 that did that, worse in the summer).
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-07-08, 03:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 468
I have one and it would not load the guide properly. I retired it before getting around to fixing it.
kcowan is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-07-08, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
I have a 305 which is the same size. Not sure what the difference between 305 and 315 is. Mine was okay before being replaced by a 505. It is now collecting dust in the basement.

-- Retired TELUS Employee so I Don't Speak for TELUS --
ae_collector is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-07-09, 09:24 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
More or less, the 315 has full buttons, and is black or near black. Its style mimics the 505. The 315 also has S-video out digital/optical audio, and 2-rows of A/V RCA connectors. It has the security upgrade slot on the back. It was the last full feature legacy line receiver.

The 305 has only a power button, in a browny grey case (first ones anyway), and may or may not have just one row of A/V. Some are known to have S-video and optical audio.
It was a replacement for the more basic 301, which was big with a lot of extra space.
classicsat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome