Shaw Direct hdmi 5.1 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-06-21, 02:41 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 28
Shaw Direct hdmi 5.1

Since Hdmi can carry the signal for 5.1 programs, why am I having issues with just getting 2.1 on my new Lg ts913es home theatre system. Actually I am getting issues with the system on multiple devices, however i have ordered a new Bluraydvd player to see if it fixes not being able to get 5.1 from my dvds. This is probably in the wrong thread tho. However maybe hdmi 5.1 is disabled on the shaw direct dsr605, as none of the shows that were listed as 5.1 were coming in better than 2.1 Sd channels were 2.0.
yonzie1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-06-21, 09:37 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,451
Check Options 4-2. Make sure HDMI out is set to Pass Through or Auto, and be box below is set to Dolby Digital.
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-06-21, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 28
both are done
yonzie1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-06-21, 12:57 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,066
Then you should be getting DD5.1 programming on your AVR/HTiB, provided you use the correct (digital) connection and you're tuned to a channel (most HD channels) that have DD5.1. See the following FAQ:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17870

Remove any other audio connections and make sure you're not going "through" a TV but directly to the AVR/HTiB via the appropriate connection. Exactly what connection are you using from the STB to the HTiB and is this a direct connection?

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-06-21, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 28
hdmi cable direct from shaw direct to htib
yonzie1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome