SD Info Channels Mixed In With HD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
SD Info Channels Mixed In With HD

I am using the classic lineup where the channels start at 001. Shaw Direct has mixed in several standard definition channels where the INFO tells you which group of channels "start here".
I like to channel surf and when I come to one of these standard def channels I have to wait 5 seconds or so for the switch to standard def and again have to wait another 5 seconds to return to hi-def when I go to the next hi-def channel.
These channels are not shown in the Classic Channel Lineup PDF I downloaded but they sure are an annoyance when I try to channel surf.
Could anybody inform me as to whether the Advanced Channel Lineup is the same? I really don't need Shaw Direct to inform me as to which group of channels "start here" especially if it causes such a nuisance as I described above.
Example.... Channel 010. It has a standard definition picture which is repeated on all channels of this type and the info tells you "Alberta HD Channels Start Here."
Channels 18, 26, 31, 42, 49, 68, 78, 100, 123, 136, 159. 209 have similar messages which inform you as to which group of channels start here.
JohnR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 12:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,131
From what I can tell online, yes the advanced line-up has these two. What about setting a favourite channels list. Would that not eliminate the SD channels when channel surfing.
bigoranget is online now  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
Yes they added the same info channels to the Advanced lineup as well. I don't channel surf so it doesn't affect me, but i can see it being really frustrating in your case.
d_source is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 12:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
Or see if you can block them using the parental controls? Not sure if that "skips" them when channel surfing or not.
d_source is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 12:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
I've tried "channel surfing" and I'm not experiencing the long delays you are having going in and out of the info channels. It might be a half second or so longer as it changes satellites but nothing like the 5 seconds your experiencing.

What are your video settings like on Options-4-5?

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 01:42 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,114
The delay is due to your TV changing formats due to the "native" or "passthrough" setting that you have in your STB. Change the output format to only 1080i and you will not encounter the delays. This is a TV issue, not directly a STB issue. Depending on the TV it can take 2-10 seconds to change formats from say 1080i to 480i.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 01:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
I think he's describing the TV switching from hi def to standard def back to hi def. My Samsung TV has a similar delay when switching.
d_source is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 01:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
GaryE.....I tried different settings in the Output Format. Still having a 5 second delay. I once asked a CSR about the delay and she said that 5 seconds is normal.
I guess I can just hope that the situation with the Standard def channels being mixed in with the Hi-Def will be a temporary thing and Shaw Direct will eliminate them.
Why can't SD just have one "information" channel and list where each group of channels begins?
bigoranget.............. Setting a FAV list only eliminates the listing from the guide. They are still there when surfing.
d_source..... Parental Control still brings up the channel when surfing and asks for a password.
Thanks for the suggestions.
Looks like there is no workaround other than Shaw Direct eliminating them or switching them to hi-def....like that is going to happen. LOL
JohnR is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
57....... I am using 1080i.
Also using 480P in 4x3 Override which allowed me to get full screen on my local news channel. That is not happening anymore since the LNB update. The channel is now in letterbox no matter which setting I apply.
Does not matter since I now have it in Hi-def. Just wondering what changed.
d_source........ I also have a Samsung TV. Model UN46D6300. That is probably causing the delay as GaryE said he has no delay.
JohnR is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 04:11 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,114
Quote:
Also using 480P in 4x3 Override
If you actually have this setting, change the 4:3 override to "off". Most TVs have an "info/display" or similar button which shows the signal that the TV is receiving. Make sure all channels are 1080i.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 04:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
Make a favorites list and don't put them on it,I'm sure you know if you're in sports or kids programming
sawguyg is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
sawguyg........Does not work. See post #8 in this thread.
JohnR is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-18, 11:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Okay, I tried JohnR's 480p 4x3 setting and it is horrendously slow.

Use these setting John... Output Format -1080i, 4x3 Override - Off and TV Type - 16x9. If you want to watch your local news in full screen then use the Aspect button on the SD Remote to "Zoom" or "Stretch" the image and then go back to "Normal" to watch HD. If you leave it in zoom or stretch then the HD channels will be out of whack.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-19, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
I cannot get it to go full screen using any combination of settings. Had no problem doing so before I updated the LNB. I could set Standard Def to full screen by selecting (480P) and Hi-Def was also OK without any further changes. I did not have to switch back between "Normal" and "Stretch or Zoom".
It seems that the 4x3 override does not function as it did before the LNB upgrade. I don't know if others used this feature which worked well but I always did and now I cannot get it to function.
JohnR is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-06-19, 09:52 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,114
There are two separate issues here. One is the delay when switching format. This can be resolved by switching to one output format and not sending 480p/i to the TV. The other is the stretching of signals. You should be able to set your TV to stretch the SD signals and not stretch HD signals if you do send different formats. Most TVs will remember the stretch mode for these separately, however, if your TV is not receiving separate formats, there's nothing to remember, therefore SD will usually remain unstretched, or you'll lose content on your HD channels if you set the TV to stretch mode.

My recommendation: 1. Set the STB to one output format - 1080i. 2. Watch SD as 4:3 because that will give you the best picture quality and no distortion (no short fat people).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome