Different LNB's on same account - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-05-24, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Question Different LNB's on same account

I have two dishes at my house right now, one feeds most of my receivers and was upgraded by Shaw to the new XKU lnb, then another dish for the TV in my garage (easier to put up a new dish then run cables underground) I want to get a new receiver for the garage, but since I have the XKU on the house, all of those receivers were remapped for the new one. If I get a new receiver can I ask shaw to put the old LNB codes onto it, or will I just need to get a new LNB before I can replace the receiver? Right now it works because the installer told me he only had them reprogram the receivers hooked up to the main dish.


Thanks
Homer_S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-05-25, 10:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,451
You can ask, ant they might comply, but you will be missing out on the new channels
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-05-25, 06:03 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
Homer,

the problem you have is this;

if you move the receivers around (i.e. a garage receiver to the house, or a house receiver to the garage), they won't work.

My professional opinion (I install Bell and Shaw) would be to replace the garage LNB to the new Triple XKu, and then call Shaw to re-map the garage receivers to the Triple LNB.

This will get rid of any future problems, and your garage receivers will receive all the channels made available by the new Anik G1 satellite recently launched.
46FD04 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-06-03, 12:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hazelton, (northern)BC
Posts: 211
Other than SD, where else can you acquire a triple xku lnbf for a reasonable price?

HTPC BTV4.2-BM1.1 MSI K8N NEO2-AMD64-1gb RAM-2XPVR250-RADEON 9600XT-2X120GB-200GB-Firefly-MyBlaster-DSR405 & DSR400.
Client MediaMVP MVPBTV addon
revsiriusiakin is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-06-03, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
I have decided to get the replacement LNB's, I was ordering them and just was impatient waiting for them to be delivered.

I was able to find some suppliers online via Google that had the LNB's for much less the then local dealers were charging for them.
Homer_S is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2013-06-03, 04:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by revsiriusiakin View Post
Other than SD, where else can you acquire a triple xku lnbf for a reasonable price?
sent you a PM
Danny001 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome