Question about HDPVR630 reselling and connecting - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-14, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Question about HDPVR630 reselling and connecting

Have a HDPVR630 (and dish too) that I had connected in the US through a broker for maybe 8 months if that. Have moved since and this thing is sitting around and want to move it out of here. Of course, I tried craigslist and wouldn't surprise me that no bites come in locally in the US. So I figured I would put it on Ebay and get rid of it. The big question is, can somebody buy it and use it without worries? I am under the impression the broker shut our account down and the box is still good but it has been originally activated to us so I dont know how it works when selling or reactivating. I just dont want to waste anyone's time and mine putting something on ebay that is no good.....

Thanks!
chatapuggy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-14, 05:38 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 750
As far as I understand it, as long as you have it removed from your account, the new owner can just have it activated under their own account.

Admittedly this is based of Shaw Cable hardware and not satellite but I would have to assume it's the same.
GamerGuy is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-14, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Appreciate it, just a little weary. Don't want to sell someone something just to have them mad at me and have to return the item. Sounds like I just have to take the chance and do it!
chatapuggy1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-15, 07:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,783
Phone Shaw Direct and ask them if the serial #is OK to activate. They should give you the answer.
gzink is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-16, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks gzink, a little about that though since my account was through a broker and they might ask me what my previous account is or was, and even if they don't, as a potential future customer, they might ask a phone number or address, etc., and I dont want to let them know I am in the states for fear they may do something to the box like blacklist it or something?
chatapuggy1 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-16, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Probably just sell cheap enough on ebay to figure in shipping as its high to Canada, and then plan on a possible return and try to make things easy if that happens...
chatapuggy1 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-16, 12:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,188
If calling as the owner, you will likely need to provide the mailing address and phone number the previous account was under. As long as the previous account was clear, there should not be any problem activating it. If there is, maybe the broker could call or you could get the address they used.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-16, 04:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,783
You call as a potential buyer using ser no. Id. And they look up account info. They tell you it's good to buy/clear or not...and they tell you no more due to privacy. If clear you sell and potential buyer inquires and get's same answer. This is done all the time. What it was and where does not matter as long as balance is zero. If there is a problem you go to the broker to clear up, unless of course you owe the broker . .
gzink is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 12:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
I recall emailing the same question to Shaw Direct in the past so that I would have the answer in writing. I did this after previously phoning them and getting the okay only to attempt to activate the receiver later and run into trouble. Apparently there were two different accounts registered to one person. When I initially enquired he had shut sown one account and sold me the receiver so all was good but by the time I went to activate it he had cancelled the second account and there was money owing so they wouldn't activate my receiver. His final payment just hadn't been processed yet so before long I was able to activate it.

Had he skipped out on the final payment I would have just purchased scrap metal from him even though Shaw Direct had verbally told me the receiver was good to go before I bought it. That is when I decided it was good to have something in writing.

-- Retired TELUS Employee so I Don't Speak for TELUS --
ae_collector is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 09:11 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Wow, sounds like a lot of drama just for me to get rid of this box! Wish I could've just kept it. I will call them today as a potential customer and see if I can get the answer. Then I will email them through the website as well and see if I get an answer back. Thats about all I can do. I just hate to throw this thing away if i can salvage some money back out of it, but would hate the drama involved to have someone buy it and then I have to return, I would be out of a lot of shipping costs.
chatapuggy1 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 09:15 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,188
The bottom line is you can't trust Shaw Direct (or many other companies.) I was told my account was clear. A couple of months later it was not. For some unknown reason, their system added a bogus interest charge after the service was stopped. It was only a dollar and change but it messed up the account for a receiver sale. It was bogus because I paid the bill in full over month earlier.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 02:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,783
But you can trust them...let's say 99.98% so go for it. You have one bad example out of...including my 5 or 6 buys and sales.
If clear, ship it to me for $75. I'll take it from there.
First class postage $27.35 or $40.95 depending on weight.
gzink is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-05-17, 08:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,188
The issue was cleared up easily. However, I was the account owner and had all the right info. I expect that a buyer could have paid the dollar and change to clear the account. (They actually waived it but it was a small amount.) If the broker left you with a large outstanding amount, it could cost big time.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome