Shaw Installer - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2013-03-06, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ON
Posts: 532
Shaw Installer

My wife and I are trying to move to the area she is from. They have or should I say had one Shaw installer who was the only guy around that did it. From what I understand he is pretty disgruntled at them and not very forthcoming. Ive been a Bell installer for a couple of years. I have never messed with Shaw equipment but it can't be a far stretch right?

These are my questions:
What if any meters do they use to point dishes?

How could one go about learning about their dish pointing receivers etc as it is some different? I live in Ontario right but where we are looking to go is on the east coast.

How would you get authorized through Shaw?

".....but the man on the phone said it's....."
Well tell the man on the phone come fix it then.
monkeyhunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2013-03-06, 08:25 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
monkeyhunk,

I've been installing Bell and Shaw for years.

P.M. me your email address, I will respond back, and you can ask me anything you want about Shaw.
46FD04 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2013-03-25, 02:21 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 684
Cool

I'm not an installer (just a licensed electricain with technician level training years ago, and still a bit geeky). I've installed both Shaw & Bell for friends and family.

You really don't need meters for either system but it would certainly speed things up. I'm a fan of an App from Dishpointer on my iPhone as it shows obstructions as well as the locations for the various Birds. But I've set up both without any aids other than a compass, a good defined method, and a little patience.

If you've done Bell Systems, IMHO, you've done the harder of the two systems to set-up.

I think a member here (Joe Louie) works for contractors in the Maritimes on both Systems. He'll certainly be able to clarify any questions you have.

Have a safe move (but you are definitely moving in the wrong direction. )

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome