Horrible problems on FX Canada HD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-13, 11:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Horrible problems on FX Canada HD

Hi we're trying to watch THe Americans on FX HD ch. 334 and its horrible, all stuttery a lot.

I know there's been talk in the free previews thread about how some people are having probs with the channel but tonite its really bad so I thought I'd start a thread about it.

Oh our signal strength is 81 and EB 6.2 on this xpdr so it isn't us.
Bayguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 12:10 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
I just posted in another topic about this problem. Wish I had seen this post earlier as I am experiencing a similar problem. Been having this problem intermittently for a few days now.
JohnR is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 12:49 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Posts: 244
It's happened every episode of this show so far for me. Don't seem to have any problems with any other shows on this channel or any other channel.
gonkster is offline  
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 07:03 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 511
if multiple ppl are having the same problem, and this channel is otherwise ok, is the problem at the uplink?
frenchophile is online now  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 01:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Dr Sat our dish is alined as good as it can get. I don't know much about Ebnos but the 81 is a good signal number. The problem on FX is NOT like a low signal problem like we had when a tree grew up a couple months ago. We are NOT seeing pixels or dropouts. Also I think the other people posting might be in Canada and theyre seeing the problem too. And did you see someone say that it's only on this one show? So it isn't our systems its something at Shaw.
Bayguy is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Gonkster thats very interesting. We don't watch FX other times but you do and there haven't been problems except on The Americans?

We could write to Shaw but we're always a little nervous about that. Didn't some one in Canada write to them about it already? I thought I saw that in another thread.
Bayguy is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
I am with Videotron and like you guys I have issues with The Americans; which is the only show I watch on FX so can not comment if there are problems with others.

I honestly thought it was Videotron only issue!
rainey is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 02:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
The poor picture quality came to an end around 11:20pm EST last night and so far today it hasn't come back. Let's hope they have this figured out now.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-14, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Dr Sat like I said our equipment is fine. Its less than a year old and of course in Calif. were using a 75cm dish. Fyi we do get over 8 ecb on some channels. But others its much lower yet they still come in fine. So maybe you were told they had to be certain numbers but that isn't always true.

As you can see from the other postings it isn't just us and like I said it does NOT look like low signal! There are no dropouts like with a low signal. Im sure you are getting higher readings in Ontario but come to Calif. and see how well you do!!

Also now that Rainey has said he's seeing the same problems on Videotron thats very interesting so probably a problem with FX not Shaw.
Bayguy is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-15, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 213
I watched a pvr of the Americans. This problem happened about 4 times. First time was a few minutes.
Leafs13 is offline  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-15, 05:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Hi leafs that sounds about right. It was bad for a few minutes then got better but got bad a few more times but not for that long. It got bad again at the end but we were able to figure out what the lady from Justified did even though we couldn't make out what anyone was saying.

We didn't think to look at FX US at 10:00 but probably it was fine. If we remember next week and FXC still has probs we'll look at FX US too.
Bayguy is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-15, 06:29 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 424
Those problems only occurred during regular programming, the commercials were fine. It must be a head end problem.
mellaby is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-16, 02:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
We have two Shaw receivers in the house and both have the same problems with FX HD. Audio constantly drops out, and frame stutters. I found this topic by googling to see if there was any information why. I guess it's a problem on Shaw's end. All other HD channels work fine.
Lard is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-17, 02:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Hi lard are you watching FX alot or just during the Americans? I'm curious if its happening to you with alot of programs.
Bayguy is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 2013-02-17, 12:29 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 67
Trying to watch "The Transporter 2" on FX Canada. It is unwatchable.
It is Sunday, 12:25pm Atlantic time. It is definitely not a signal issue.
No pixelation. Sound is really bad and cannot be understood. Small white dots can be seen on screen when the background is black while this problem is happening. This has been an ongoing problem for several days now.
JohnR is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome