Shaw Direct New Channels Discussion - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 10:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
Like he said that is not an official list and it isn't 100 HD channels (not that I beleive that there will be that many).
sawguyg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
I wonder how they intend to package the HD. Since HD has been so limited don't they still have just two optional HD packages, HD Extra and Sports HD in addition to the original free HD channels? Will they create more HD theme packs or do like Telus Optik and include all HD equivalents with SD subscription?

-- Retired TELUS Employee so I Don't Speak for TELUS --
ae_collector is offline  
post #63 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 12:26 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 121
With the addition to the local Canadian network additions on SD, Shaw D would also be adding some HD locals (West feeds). Also would assume that the following would also be added in HD, as they are Shaw Channels; DIY, Lifetime, H2, Action, Slice and Twist.
mobee is offline  
 
post #64 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 12:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
According to SD's website... "Most of the channels launching this spring will be part of existing channel packages, so most of our subscribers will automatically receive several new channels at no additional cost.

Full channel package details will be included on shawdirect.ca when the channels become available."

"We've just launched our new satellite."

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #65 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 03:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 189
Long over due for Shaw Direct customers. Hopefully, they will be adding some meaningful HD equivalents.
MacOSXAddict is offline  
post #66 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 07:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,139
I didn't count all the channels in the last but there is probably around 25, add another 30-40 locals, some french specialties and PPV channels, that will bring you pretty close to 100 channels.

Plus they also have to add some SD category B channels to come into compliance with the 3:1 rule as well.
bigoranget is offline  
post #67 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 10:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigoranget View Post

Plus they also have to add some SD category B channels to come into compliance with the 3:1 rule as well.
Any guesses on what they will add here?
starchoice is offline  
post #68 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-21, 02:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 115
No mention of TCM HD? Or another Commercial free HD channel that offers older movies?
Looking through the list there is nothing really New,I wish SD would ask what it's subscribers really want.
Romany is offline  
post #69 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-21, 09:19 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Labrador City, NF.
Posts: 61
I can't see anyone knowing what channels SD will added only the mandatory ones. The list that's posted here is stuff we already have for the most part and by no means I'm complaining about them going HD. Just love to have some New HD channels that we don't have yet. I know there's lots out there. So if they fill Anik G1 quickly with lots of new channels and there's no more room, does that mean we have to wait years for another new satellite to be launched to get more new channels? As everyone knows there will always be new HD channels launched all the time and if we got no more room then I guess we won't get them. Just a thought and can't wait for the channels to be launched!!
duleylake is offline  
post #70 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-21, 09:36 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,393
If they were to totally fill G1 with required channels and the other probable additions but still need more space to have the same HD offerings as Rogers and Bell then they would have the option of changing existing channels over to MPEG4 It would probably make sense to change channels like the existing TMN/MC/HBO/Superchannels channels as their conversion would effect a limited number of subscribers. Same with some of the sports packages and PPV channels.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #71 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-21, 12:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
I forgot bigorangenet,they count everything as a channel even those promo things and the music stns. So you are probably right with all that be over 100
sawguyg is offline  
post #72 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-25, 02:55 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 121
Once Centre Ice is over for the season (this weekend), or after the first round of playoffs wonder if Shaw D would or could use that bandwidth for some other channel additions? Then this fall put NFL Network, Centre Ice to the new satellite, any ideas out there?
mobee is offline  
post #73 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-25, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 409
they better finally offer a college sports ppv package come this fall- it'll be 3 part time use hd channels from sept-march with football and basketball taking games from espn, espn2 and espnu. if they can't offer that package with the new satellite, then it's time to look elsewhere as they are the only provider out there who doesn't.
takeaim is offline  
post #74 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-25, 11:28 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belleville. Ontario
Posts: 790
They need to get something done, in regards to CI. Not having the Comcast and MSG feeds, in HD, they need to get this sorted out or give a discount.

Winegard PR8800, YA1713, Zenith7777 Preamp, 42" Aquos 120hz, Samsung UP5000 Blu Ray/HDDVD, C/Ku Band, Directv H21, 22.
PrinceLH is offline  
post #75 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-26, 08:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
I agree. CI customers in Canada shouldn't have to suffer for the BS that is going on in the US. The whole premise behind CI is region based, and that's not our region!
d_source is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
chicago , fox 32 , shaw replaces wgn , wgn

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome