Shaw Direct New Channels Discussion - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-15, 09:02 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,464
investigation Discovery is on classic channel 557.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-15, 09:53 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryE View Post
It should be free to all with 600 series receivers until July 31st at which you will require a subscription to the SD version to get the HD version.
Unfortunately not all 600 series receivers will be able to pick up this or any other Mpeg 4 encoded channels. Any of us with the legacy stacked LNB's are out of luck regardless of the receiver. It is not a technical limitation but one imposed by SD for reasons not quite clear.
skifan is offline  
post #48 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 08:21 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Labrador City, NF.
Posts: 61
How did SD add these 2 New Channels if they have no room?? Whatever the case I hope they add some more New ones before the Anik F1 becomes operational. Any word on the New HD guide??
duleylake is offline  
 
post #49 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 09:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
I thought it was clear, they don't have the "slots" to make a V-code for the combination of an MPEG4 map on stacked LNBFs.

As said, it seems they took away at least one CI channel.
classicsat is offline  
post #50 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 10:13 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
I thought it was clear, they don't have the "slots" to make a V-code for the combination of an MPEG4 map on stacked LNBFs.
With a 4 digit number available to set the V-code, I would be interested to hear what the technical limitation actually is. Saying there are not enough "slots" is not the type of "clear" explanation I was thinking of.
skifan is offline  
post #51 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 10:19 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 361
Quote:
I thought it was clear, they don't have the "slots" to make a V-code for the combination of an MPEG4 map on stacked LNBFs.
Not true - I have a stacked system - my 605 gets Movietime, my 600 does not.

I'm not washed up yet
Donnybrook is offline  
post #52 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 03:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
Donnybrook - how does that make any sense?
d_source is offline  
post #53 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 07:25 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 361
605 has channel map 4319 - gets Movietime HD
600 has channel map 4377 - does not

I'm not washed up yet
Donnybrook is offline  
post #54 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 08:30 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
Donnybrook - I checked my rcvrs yesterday and my 630s (2) and my 600s (2) both are able to get the channel. Not sure if you care enough to call SD over the issue but if you did, can they update the channel mapping on your 600 so you are able to get this new channel?
d_source is offline  
post #55 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 09:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oh, over there.
Posts: 31
My 600 and 605 both get Movietime HD with no effort. I had a mapping issue, called in and had it fixed months ago. Both boxes will get them if maps are set correctly and you're a on recent LNB.

Byron
byron is offline  
post #56 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-18, 12:21 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
I believe that as long as the receivers are using the same dish they should be using the same V-Code. Call SD and get them to look into it
Kartan is offline  
post #57 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 12:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,131
The following Engish local channels will be added in June. These channels will be standard definition, will be MPEG-4 format and on Anik G1. These channels are LPIF eligible stations that Shaw Direct is required to carry as part of a CRTC ruling.

CHAT (City - Medicine Hat)
CISA (Global - Lethbridge)
CFCN-5 (CTV - Lethbridge)
CIPA (CTV - Prince Albert)
CICC (CTV - Yorkton)
CBET (CBC - Windsor)
CHWI (CTV Two - Weatley)
CKNY (CTV - North Bay)
CITO (CTV - Timmins)
CICI (CTV - Sudbury)
CHBX (CTV - Sault Ste. Marie)
CBAT (CBC - Fredericton)
CBNT (CBC - St. John's)
CHEX-2 (CBC - Oshawa)
CJCB (CTV - Sydney)
CKCW (CTV - Moncton)
CKLT (CTV - Saint John)
bigoranget is online now  
post #58 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 12:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,131
The following is a tentative list of HD specialty channels that will be added to Shaw Direct starting in June. Please note that this is NOT official until Shaw Direct publishes it. Also, eventhough G1 will be operational by June, the HD channels will not necessarily be added at the same time. The first priority is to come into compliance with carrying the additoinal locals and coming into compliance with the category B 3:1 rule.

Here is the list:

Business News Network HD
Discovery Channel HD
Animal Planet HD
Bravo HD
Comedy Network HD
Global News BC1 HD
YTV HD
W Movies HD
Treehouse HD
CMT HD
Nickelodeon HD
Sundance Channel HD
Comso TV HD
W Network HD
ABC Spark HD
Oprah Winfrey Network HD
Movie Central 3 HD (West only)
Rogers Sportsnet World HD
CityNews Channel HD
radX
eqhd
HIFI
Family HD
Disney XD HD
The Movie Network Encore HD (East only)
The Movie Network Encore 2 HD (East only)
MFun! HD (East only)
MExcess HD (East only)
MFest HD (East only)
bigoranget is online now  
post #59 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 05:55 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 503
any word on HD feeds of west coast network feeds?
frenchophile is online now  
post #60 of 612 (permalink) Old 2013-04-20, 07:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 415
was totally hoping for NFL and NHL HD but beggars can not be choosers eh.
Danny001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
chicago , fox 32 , shaw replaces wgn , wgn

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome