New Firmware Update 8.26 - See post 1. - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-03, 01:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Quote:
so last night, had grimm all set to record and the 630 recorded nothing!
You might want to delete and recreate the timer. I've often seen timers that were not working. It seems to be related to guide data inaccuracies but it could be corrupted timers.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-03, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 127
I had 3 recordings set for Thursday night, and all 3 were broken when I went to watch them last night - but the recordings earlier in the week were fine, and last night's were fine as well.

This is a problem I didn't have prior to this new update.
thewatcher is offline  
post #48 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 12:48 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by meandher57 View Post
We also appreciated the Halloween icons that appeared on the 31st. Very festive.
meandher what are Halloween icons? We're new to shaw and didnt see them. Weve seen Halloween cats on CTV between programs but it sounds like your talking about something on Shaw.
Bayguy is offline  
 
post #49 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 10:18 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 468
the Halloween cats were icons that appeared on the dvr menu on the day. They replaced the 'recording' and 'recorded' icons. There was some confusion, because the cat icon looked similar to the 'broken recording' icon (except for the colour)

Maybe it looked better on the HD menu being tested by SD employees

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
post #50 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 10:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longmayirun View Post
I just can't trust it to record anything now.

This is the problem.
Leafs13 is offline  
post #51 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 11:11 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Penticton, BC, SC 505 HD, Westinghouse 32" HD LCD Widescreen, Yamaha RVX3800, eleganza 5.1 speakers
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryBob View Post
You might want to delete and recreate the timer. I've often seen timers that were not working. It seems to be related to guide data inaccuracies but it could be corrupted timers.
found my missing Grimm - was on the bottom of the pvr list at 886:03 LOL

So I tried to remove my recordings and reprogram them. Noticed that they all came up with an X in the record days. Did a soft reboot, no difference. Gave up and went to bed. Checked this morning they appear fine...I will watch closely to ensure the Simpsons are taped tonight as scheduled!

Yamaha RVX3800, Eleganza Speakers, Epson Pro Cinema 1080p, 106" Accuscreen
jccamp95 is offline  
post #52 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 11:24 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
I've seen a few recording with an X, meaning they will be skipped, as well. That's in addition to the ones I skipped intentionally. There's definitely something serious wrong with this update. I've also seen the 886:03 broken recordings since 8.26 arrived. It's not because the 630 was not rebooted after the update either. Mine had the update for a few days and had been unplugged in the meantime.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #53 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 06:09 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 508
Sometimes "X" will appear in a circle even though nothing conflicts with the recording event.

The work-around is to select "Record This Airing". There is no reason why it should work when the other options won't work, but...
RuralRouter is offline  
post #54 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 08:53 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Penticton, BC, SC 505 HD, Westinghouse 32" HD LCD Widescreen, Yamaha RVX3800, eleganza 5.1 speakers
Posts: 210
Oh I agree it should work. But I am not going to babysit all my scheduled recordings for every day, especially since they were fine before and after the upgrade. Even after deleting the recording event and rebuilding it, the 630 was still putting X on the shows.

Yamaha RVX3800, Eleganza Speakers, Epson Pro Cinema 1080p, 106" Accuscreen

Last edited by 57; 2012-11-05 at 01:23 AM. Reason: UQR
jccamp95 is offline  
post #55 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-04, 10:08 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ouser View Post
the Halloween cats were icons that appeared on the dvr menu on the day.
Oh okay thanks we don't have a DVR. I wonder whether they show up on a 605 if you set a recording. Well too late now but maybe someone will mention it around Xmas and we can try then. Sounds cute. :-)
Bayguy is offline  
post #56 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-05, 10:12 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 478
It's been rock solid for me. No issues with missed records. No rebooting or resetting issues. The external HDD hasn't caused a single issue. I've reset no timers since the update.

It's the best update Shaw Direct has done since ever. This is coming from a guy who has no issue emailing or phoning when something is wrong with the service.
Krydor is offline  
post #57 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-05, 11:34 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
I found that the the guide was incorrect for a few days last week. The shows descriptions were actually for shows that air this week, so the PVR recorded repeats last week thinking they were new. Some shows this week now have an "x" in the guide as a result. Now that the guide has been corrected the PVR thinks it recorded the episode last week and skips recording it again this week.

I`ve had to select record this airing for a few episodes that have been skipped this week so I don`t miss them.

For me this seemed more of a guide issue than an issue with the new firmware.
Ramdamit98 is offline  
post #58 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-05, 11:56 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON; Shaw Direct HDPVR630; Samsung HLT5687; Harmon/Kardon AVR247; Harmon/Kardon HKTS11
Posts: 467
That was because of Hurricane Sandy. Some of the networks decided at the last minute to show a repeat episode instead of a new episode. The guide wasn't updated in time, so the PVR still thought it recorded a new episode last week. That's why some episodes may have an "x" icon this week for the postponed new episodes.
rgto is offline  
post #59 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-05, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krydor View Post
It's been rock solid for me. No issues with missed records. No rebooting or resetting issues. The external HDD hasn't caused a single issue. I've reset no timers since the update.

It's the best update Shaw Direct has done since ever.
Wow - that certainly hasn't been my case. In fact quite the opposite. It was rock solid before the update. Besides all the broken recordings and numerous phantom restarts, my daughter tried to record Heartland and got the weird 893:01 (or whatever the number was) and the only option to select was delete recording. They've turned this thing into a piece of junk.
Longmayirun is offline  
post #60 of 183 (permalink) Old 2012-11-05, 03:33 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 508
X on programs recorded

On the recorded PVR list I saw an "X" on the same line as the program I recorded. I got the usual screen: play, delete, etc. I clicked play, but it didn't play. I finally clicked delete and it deleted. The episode listed is not repeated in future per the guide.

The "X" seems to infect both the guide and recorded shows.

P.S. Sandy shouldn't have effected the recording since the show was "Haven" (a Cdn show) on Showcase.
RuralRouter is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome