HD Signals - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-07-30, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Question HD Signals

I have a DSR-505 HD receiver. I'm not getting several channels (eg. 284 - NBC). The rest are working and I'm getting them on another Shaw HD receiver. What should I do?
Shopper27d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-07-30, 07:09 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,468
Swap receiver locations and see if the fault follows the receiver or stays with the cabling.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-07-30, 07:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Or before you move it... reboot the unit by holding the power button on the front of the receiver for about 10 seconds or unplug from the power for 30 seconds or so to see if they bring your channels back.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-07-30, 11:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
Don't know if this just an issue for Shopper. My NBCEHD is a black screen as well. Is SD blacking out NBC instead of simsubbing the Olympics?

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-07-30, 11:21 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
LONSAT I dont think the black screen is on purpose for you. We were going between NBC HD and CTV HD earlier today when the Olympics were live and we didn't have any problems. Sorry don't know why you're seeing a black screen. :-(
Bayguy is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-07-31, 12:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
Actually there seems to be a couple transponders out this evening. NBCEHD, FOXEHD, ABCEHD, SUN News all on TP15 and those on TP8 West American HD for ABC, CBS, NBC

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 08:09 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Missing HD Channels

It started when the receiver was updating the guide. A number of HD channels didn't come in but gradually most did. The same thing is happening now.
Shopper27d is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 12:07 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
Shopper we're new to Shaw how do we tell when the guide is updating? We had some channel breakups yesterday in fact we had to watch part of the FRA/CDN tennis match online from NBC because TSN went away. (BTW we don't get TSN in HD this was some SD channels going away too.)
Bayguy is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Shaw Direct Employee
Posts: 301
Hi Everyone,

There was rainfade at the Toronto uplinks twice yesterday, and once at Calgary. Seems to be an unfortunate week for the summer storms!
SD 630 Support is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-01, 01:29 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Although there were thunderstorms in Toronto, they were around 2-4PM and 8PM EDT July 31, so that wouldn't explain the timing in post 7 of this thread, but it would for post 8. We have a rain fade thread in the SD forum here.

Interestingly, BTV was not affected this time, due to the localized nature of these storms.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-15, 12:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Hi,

Anyone have this issue resolved? I am having the exact same issue with my 505. Can't get random HD channels like NBCHD and just noticed that Sun News is also black.

Thanks

Rosy_55
rosy_55 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-19, 03:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 38
Question Sportnet HD

The last week or so while watching the Blue Jays in HD I note interference streaks intermittantly going through the picture . It only appears to be happening on the HD channels as I do not see it on the SD channels. It not a local weather issue as the ECB# is 8.2 and the weather is good. Has anyone else noticed this?
TyHe is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-19, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Talking Try Unplugging

I followed the suggestion about unplugging my receiver and it worked. THANK YOU!!!
Shopper27d is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-08-26, 09:45 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Now It Doesn't Work

We lost all the signals during a thunder storm a few days ago and I lost the same HD channels. I tried unplugging the receiver for 30 seconds (which restored the HD signals on NBC + ABC). This time it didn't work.

What now??
Shopper27d is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome