600 vs 605 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2012-07-25, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
600 vs 605

upgrading all my 500 series receivers to the 600's and was wondering what the biggest differences were between the 600 and 605's. the biggest reason i am asking is there is a big price difference between the two so i figured there must be some big draw backs. any info would be greatly appreciated.
Note: i am in discussion with shaw on pricing and they seem to want to give away the 600 model

thanks!!
thebruin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2012-07-25, 06:54 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,468
Here's a link to the manuals.
http://www.shawdirect.ca/english/cus...sermanuals.asp
Although all the pdfs do not show the actual unit

Off the top of my head:

The outputs available are different. 600 only has HDMI, Red, yellow and White and Co-ax Out

605 adds optical audio out, RED, Green, Blue, and a phone jack and UHF remote (change channels from outside of the room)/Front display clock / channel indicator


When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2012-07-26, 08:26 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125
What are they offering as trade-in prices?
bpsmicro is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2012-07-26, 10:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
600 has RF CH 3/4 out, but drops component, optical audio, UHF remote, modem, and front panel display.

The 605/630 have the same connections/display/UHF remote.
It has component, optical audio, eSATA, modem, full display, UHF receiver/remote. The 630 has two tuners and a built in HDD.

All have brick power supply, satellite coax in, composite RCA A/V out, HDMI, Ethernet, USB, and 3.5mm serial port.

The 600 and 605 use exactly the same software, so operate the exact same way.
classicsat is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2012-07-26, 12:41 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,109
When we were setting up our Shaw systm. we were sure glad to have the UHF remote so we could have a little TV by the dish while the rcvr was in the living room.
Bayguy is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2012-07-31, 11:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 384
If you want to record off the receiver in HD on a HTPC you need the 605 and it component connection. Otherwise it not worth the extra cash.
madhi19 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome