New LNB Question - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-07-02, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 70
New LNB Question

I have two 600's two 505's and a 315. Will they all work with the new LNB? If the 600
Are the only ones that will see the new satellite, what happens to the older receivers? Can i just make the swap? If i got a new lnb can i just swap it and continue to enjoy my programming just as I an right now?
Iceman31 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-07-03, 10:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
Except maybe the 921, all older receivers should work with the X-Ku LNBF to receive all the programming they are capable of receiving.

You can get an LNBF and change it yourself, but you need to get the V-code changed to the X-Ku one.

The way the X-Ku LNBF works is it tunes the normal Ku band 680Mhz or so higher. The local oscillator in the LNBF is 10.070 Ghz, instead of the standard 10.750 Ghz. With that, all legacy receivers can technically "see" the new satellite, but chances are what will go on the new satellite will be MPEG4 only.

I have a 421C, 315, 505, and 605. Last I used the 421C, it was set up for X-Ku, and worked fine. The others all work fine. A tech changed the LNBF and the V-codes for the receivers.
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-07-03, 11:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 26
Point is moot, IMHO. Launch of the new sat is delayed from Sept 30 to Dec 30. This means no new channels until the new year. Methinks it's time for Shaw to consider migrating existing channels to MPEG4.
AbbyJane is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2012-07-04, 11:01 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
Iceman31, are you using a Dual Satellite Quad LNB?

If you are, don't worry about it until Shaw contacts you to do an LNB changeover.

All your receivers will continue to work using your older LNB, UNLESS you have the real old beer-can style dual LNB's.

If you have these, you will require a changeover. Call Shaw for an app't.
46FD04 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome