Launch of new Satellite - Anik-G1 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-08, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
JCM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Launch of new Satellite - Anik-G1

Does any one know when it is going up and it's footprinnt (snowbird)?
JCM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-08, 10:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,792
http://www.telesat.com/satellite-fleet/anik/anik-g1

Shows footprint and there are docs with more detail.
gzink is online now  
post #3 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-08, 11:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,099
The "Satellite" will launch in November 2012, see http://www.digitalhome.ca/2011/06/an...november-2012/

If Life is a Highway,...then why is there no end to this dirtroad?
dirtroad is offline  
 
post #4 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-09, 10:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 26
Anik G1 is launching from Baikonur Cosmodrome on Sept 30, 2012. November is the expected date for channel deployment by Shaw.
AbbyJane is offline  
post #5 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-11, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
JCM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 171
It looks like they are cuting o the Canadian snowbirds since the footprint dosn't cover th USA like it does now.
JCM is offline  
post #6 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-11, 11:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Anik g1 coverage area

Does anyone know if Anik G1 will in fact cover the whole USA ?
savjac is offline  
post #7 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 02:35 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,096
hi savjac you can see the G1 footprint here:

http://www.telesat.com/satellite-fleet/anik/anik-g1

I dont think Shaw has said anything but i've seen sat tv users say they think it will have mostly locals and we won't loose many if any of the main channels. Boy I hope thats true b'cuz we just bought a Shaw system! Well its a gamble but I hope well be okay...
Bayguy is offline  
post #8 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 02:54 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbbyJane View Post
Anik G1 is launching from Baikonur Cosmodrome on Sept 30, 2012. November is the expected date for channel deployment by Shaw.
I wonder if Shaw Direct will have a special channel to watch the launch I know if I invested that much money I made sure that to show the peoples footing that bill!
madhi19 is offline  
post #9 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 03:53 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayguy View Post
hi savjac you can see the G1 footprint here:...

Just like pozt #2?!!!???
gzink is online now  
post #10 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-12, 11:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Anik g1 coverage area ??

As per the Anik G1 footprint,it seems to me that G1 will cover some parts of northern USA,but nothing south of it.I don't know if I read the footprint correctly but the document also shows North American Extended Ku-Band(Should it not cover the whole USA then?)
On the other hand,we know that G1 will be in the same orbital slot as anik F1/F1R at 107.3.Then one could assume that G1 will cover the whole USA as F1/F1R already do at 107.3 ??
I am concerned since I am in Florida.I am confused and I am not sure I read the footprint correctly.
If anyone knows more on this matter and/or if I should expect that I will not get reception down in Florida,please let me know.
Thanks in advance.
savjac is offline  
post #11 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-13, 12:23 AM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
savjac, you see the footprint correctly, none of the southern US will be able to get the programming from Anik G1. You will still get the programming that they keep on the two satellites you are viewing from now at 107.3W and 111.1W.
QCK is offline  
post #12 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-13, 02:15 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,096
savjac it doesnt matter if its in the same place as another sat they can make it point almost anywhere they want. So just because its going to be right next to F1 doesn't mean it covers the U.S. like QCK said. Sorry!
Bayguy is offline  
post #13 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-13, 08:03 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 361
The 16 transponders on G1 that Shaw has leased operate in the Extended Ku Band. Under the ITU Agreement; Extended Ku band is not satellite only in North America.

Telesat and Shaw have a temporary permit (expires 2028) from Industry Canada to operate in this band at 107 and 111. That's why the footprint is Canada only - just like the ku bands footprints were on E1 and E2.

Present plans are to replace with a Reverse DBS satellite by 2028.

I'm not washed up yet
Donnybrook is offline  
post #14 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-15, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 767
Will current Shaw Direct customers need any new equipment in order to receive G1 channels?
NovaMan is online now  
post #15 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-15, 07:15 PM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
Yes, you will need a new quad LNB which will allow you to see G1 as well as the current two satellites. You will need to call Shaw Direct and request it. They will set up a service call to replace it for you.
QCK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome