Launch of new Satellite - Anik-G1 - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-23, 10:47 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,097
dguthrie I looked at RussianSpaceWeb.com and it says its by a person. A person who knows a lot about Russian rockets but still just a person, not the gov't or a launch company.
Bayguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-24, 03:51 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
All web sites are run by individuals.
I have done a lot of searching and Russian Space Web seems to be very up to date & accurate, and judging by the poor English it is based in Russia.
If you speak Russian maybe you can find a more official site.
If anyone can find a more official site I would be happy to hear about it.
Russian Space Web seems to be way more reliable for information than any of the launch rumor site that simply wait for users to send them the latest rumors.
dguthrie is offline  
post #123 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-24, 05:55 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,792
quote:All web sites are run by individuals.

Sorry, not true. ?? Not sure what you were getting at there.
gzink is offline  
 
post #124 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-24, 03:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 26
Hate to bust everyone's bubble but the reality is that no firm date has been set, nor will one be before the beginning of February. The Failure Review Oversight Board does not even begin meeting with ILS customers, industry subject experts, and insurance industry representatives until January 30th. Until that happens, any Proton/Briz rocket flights won't begin to be planned. That means sit tight and wait until February for news. For those who want information straight from the source, try http://www.ilslaunch.com. They are the ones, after all, who are actually launching the satellite.
AbbyJane is offline  
post #125 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-24, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,099
Thanks AbbyJane for the link, there is a news article there that says
Quote:
The findings on the identified most probable root cause of the anomaly and the required corrective actions will be released to ILS after the report clears Russian security during the week of January 21st.
see http://www.ilslaunch.com/newsroom/ne...issions-report.
So the date of launch of the Anik G1 is a living entity and where it ends up, no one knows.

On the bright side, the report also says
Quote:
The spacecraft, built by Thales Alenia Space for Russian satellite operator Gazprom Space Systems, was successfully maneuvered to its orbital position and was declared fully operational on January 8th 2013 after completing its on orbit tests.
So even when things don't go well, they work out for some. "Better to be lucky than good!"

If Life is a Highway,...then why is there no end to this dirtroad?
dirtroad is offline  
post #126 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-25, 06:12 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,097
gzink I'm confused too dguthrie said that Russian site was "official" but it sure doesn't look official it looks like someones website. Maybe its a person with good info but it isn't the official Russian version of NASA. I think like AbbyJane said the only official site at least in English is the ILS site. I don't see a launch date on that site, do you?
Bayguy is offline  
post #127 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-01-27, 09:29 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 182
Bottom line is that launches will resume when the insurance companies are satisfied. One more failure of this rocket could lead to ILS bankruptcy.
Bent But is offline  
post #128 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-02-07, 10:40 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 44
Proton M Cleared for launch

According to sources the new tentative launch dates are:

Satmex 8 - March 15
Anik G1 - April 5
dguthrie is offline  
post #129 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-02-13, 03:11 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 213
ILS has annnounced a return to flight, next up is Satmex 8, so G1 is not far away, more info here http://www.ilslaunch.com/newsroom/ne...-investigation
cheers
frenchhomer is offline  
post #130 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-03-10, 10:23 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 121
So let's say that Anik G1 is launched early part of April as mentioned. How long would it take for Shaw Direct to actually be able to use the satellite for deployment of new channels? If it is coming soon wouldn't installers be coming to subscribers to change out their LNB's? Two weeks ago we also pulled the plug on Shaw D, thought I would give them a couple more months to see where this is going. When Bell had their New Satellite sent up wasn't it over 6 or more months before it finally came in use? Anyone have any answers?
mobee is offline  
post #131 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-03-10, 10:50 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
When Bell replaced their last satellite, it went up in May 2012.

It was fully operational in July 2012.

If Shaw/Anik/Telecom (whoever owns it) does what Bell did, hopefullt Anik G1 will be operational within 8 weeks of launch.
46FD04 is offline  
post #132 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-03-11, 02:26 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobee View Post
So let's say that Anik G1 is launched early part of April as mentioned. How long would it take for Shaw Direct to actually be able to use the satellite for deployment of new channels? If it is coming soon wouldn't installers be coming to subscribers to change out their LNB's? Two weeks ago we also pulled the plug on Shaw D, thought I would give them a couple more months to see where this is going. When Bell had their New Satellite sent up wasn't it over 6 or more months before it finally came in use? Anyone have any answers?
There will only be a need to replace LNBs if the Customer wants the new Channels that G1 is going to carry, and the Customer doesn't already have the XKu type LNB and 6xx series recievers.

Unless there are some killer stations going onto G1; the migration will be slower than most expect.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #133 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 02:55 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 72
Will customers be expected to pay for a new LNB, or will Shaw do it free of charge?
Jason Spaceman is offline  
post #134 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 03:53 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 983
If Shaw works like Bell does, you should get a free LNB & free install if you purchase new HD channels that require this LNB.

If you are a Home-Away-From-Home (HAFH) customer, you should get another new LNB for free too, for your 2nd location.

However, having said that, most HAFH customers already have their 2nd dish already equipped with the new Triple XKu LNB.

The trouble will occur if any of their family members have a receiver on the same account programmed for the old Dual LNB. When the Primary location receives a Triple LNB, the locations with the Dual will stop working.

They will have to purchase a Triple for their dish, and these cost upwards of $100 inc. tax.
46FD04 is offline  
post #135 of 290 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 05:16 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 240
"Will customers be expected to pay for a new LNB, or will Shaw do it free of charge?"

A simple call to Shaw mentioning the offerings by competitors such as Telus, Bell, Eastlink or other cable companies, will quickly result in a transfer to the 'Retentions' department.

Past personal experience and the experience of others on this forum, indicates that some form of free upgrade and/or bill adjustment should be readily forthcoming.

It is suggested that you be familiar with the offerings of the competitors so the Retentions agent understands that you are informed and serious. And, as always, a respectful but firm demeanour also helps.
skifan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome