Launch of new Satellite - Anik-G1 - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-15, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 292
yes, you will need an xku lnb.

"The quality of your question will directly effect the quality of your answer"
Installer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-15, 08:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,796
Possibly by the end of the year...if the launch is successful.
gzink is online now  
post #18 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-16, 10:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
You need a xKu LNBF, dish if you don't have an appropriate elliptical dish, and 6xx series receiver.
classicsat is offline  
 
post #19 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-16, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
I have an elliptical dish. Will I need a replacement? I assume replacements are free?
d_source is offline  
post #20 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-18, 10:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
Just the LNBF needs replaced then. It should be free.
classicsat is offline  
post #21 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-18, 10:38 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
Just the LNBF needs replaced then. It should be free.
I was told the following by SD:

"The elliptical dish you currently have will work with the new dvr630’s but there is a part to your dish (the LNBF) that is unable to “see” the 3rd satellite. We do offer an upgrade at a reduced price for $50.00"
PaulC is offline  
post #22 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-18, 11:38 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,102
Hi maybe I'm just wishful thinking but if people with the old LNBFs need to buy a new one for $50 to see the new bird then maybe thats more evidence like people have said that the new sat will have extra channels not the main channels because think how angry people would be if everyone who has Shaw had to pay $50 to keep getting there main channels. What Im saying is maybe this is good news for people like us in "southern" Canada who won't be able to see the new sat. I've seen people guessing that the new one wont have important channels and maybe this means they're right.

Well a person can hope.
Bayguy is online now  
post #23 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-18, 01:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 629
Well if it's not free, then i don't need any of the new channels anyways. But i'm sure when i sign up for NHL CI next season they'll come running to install it for free.
d_source is offline  
post #24 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-19, 10:20 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
I gather no one really knows what channels will be on this new sat, is there an expectation that NHL centre ice channels will be on it? I am looking at becoming a bell refugee because of my place down south and switching to SD, but will likely need to get CI as well. Which if I can't get hockey really throws a wrench in. Or I should say yet another wrench.
Ryan Coke is offline  
post #25 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-05-19, 11:20 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
Bell just launch their new Sat that will cut off snow birds in the south. I was thinking that Shaw would benefit from this. They would get more subs but if Shaw changes their foot print which I hope they don't. I'm not a snow bird. I'm with bell and would like to see competition.
rogue17 is offline  
post #26 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-06-04, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
JCM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Does any one actually know what will happen if one dosn't upgrade their LNB (due to a mobile sat dish on a motorhome) and what might still be available in the USA for snowbirds next year?
JCM is offline  
post #27 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 02:17 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 687
JCM,

My understanding is you will get exactly what you have now. Shaw has a lot of Customers with the old gear who will not be signing up for the new HD channels expected on the new bird. They have 505s, 530s, etc., and don't want to pay for the 6xx boxes and a new LNB, so everything will remain as it is on the 2 existing birds.

(Of course those with special Sports packages may be migrated to the new bird but I expect SD to give them special deals on the hardware as those channels make huge income.)

I certainly don't think the folks using SD south of the border have much to worry about in the short term.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #28 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 10:31 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
Short term, if you don't do anything, no change. Who knows what happens if and when they begin moving channels from normal MPEG2 SD or HD to 8psk/MPEG4.

If it is a non-stacked dish setup, I think a 600 series receiver will work to get all current programming with it. A stacked dish will require an LNBF change.

Nothing on G1 will be available much south of Canada, All that ends up remaining on the F1r/F2 satellite should be receivable in "south" Canada
classicsat is offline  
post #29 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 72
i really hope they Add All NFL and NHL games in HD with the New Sat
because Sports in stander definition is unwatchable!!
Jimmy49ERS is offline  
post #30 of 290 (permalink) Old 2012-06-05, 12:33 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 326
I am confused as to what is going to happen with the new satellite and the equipment necessary to access the channels on it. We have an elliptical dish with a 605 receiver. Do we need to change anything to receive the new channels?? And is it free?? There seems to be conflicting information on this thread. We have been Shaw Direct custoemrs since November 22nd, 2011, so our equpiment is new.
cableredneck is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome