Free Satellite to Canadians Losing OTA (LTSS) - See Links In Post 1 - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-05, 03:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,099
Ensure whether "Serviced" or "Self Install" for dish

Dr.Sat, you are correct it does not have PVR capabilities....Yet.

I was fooled by down loading the HDDSR manual on line as it contains the 600, 605, and 630 ( 630 which does have the PVR) and they are not broken down in separate sections. The remote for them all, has the PVR buttons.

The manual in the box of the 600 has a user guide specific guide that states the USB jack is "for future use", which can mean anything. EHD PVR I hope!

What channel's does my father get? None, as apparently they don't have an installer for his area, and they will now be sending a dish out in 10 to 14 days for a self install.

The real point to this post is to let anyone who is applying for the LTSS to ensure at the time of the application if their area is "Serviced" or "Self Install" so the dish and receiver arrive at the same time.

Too bad, another couple of weeks for him without any programming.

If Life is a Highway,...then why is there no end to this dirtroad?
dirtroad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-08, 08:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3
Talking My experience with LTSS

Since in July 2012 I lost completely CBC(Ch 56) and the French channel (ch 61), I looked for a way to get them back and that's how I found about tje LTSS program trough this site.
I've applied on Sep 05, 2012 and I've got the DSR319 receiver in my hands on Oct 01, 2012.
Scheduled an installation on 06 Oct 2012 and since I've got 9 SD digital local channels through Shaw Direct - LTSS program:
Ch-37-CBC Toronto (CBLT)
Ch-39-Global Toronto (CIII)
Ch-50-CTV Sudbury (CICI)
Ch-40-City TV Toronto
Ch-41-CHCH Hamilton
Ch-44-A Channel Barrie (CKVR)
Ch-42-OMNI 1 - (CFMT)
Ch-55-TVO
Ch-704-SRC Ottawa (CBOFT)

I live in KW and since from my location I was not able to pick on OTA more than 3-4 channels with a 30' outside antenna, this LTSS offer came to the right moment for me.
Thanks to all who advertised their experience here and that is why I've tried to share my experience also with this program.

Very happy with my expanded number of channels and available for any questions for others ready to try.

Best regards and thank you all.

satlooker2008

Last edited by satlooker2008; 2012-10-09 at 08:06 AM.
satlooker2008 is offline  
post #78 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-09, 09:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
I am in southwest New Brunswick and received a 319 receiver, and got 5 channels. CTV, ctv two, global, cbc, and 1 french station.

When getting set up I asked them if I could use my 630 PVR that I have not used it about 8 or 9 months. They verified, and said it was not a problem, so we activated my 630 on the LTSS program!
jhawkins is offline  
 
post #79 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-09, 10:29 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,769
That's interesting, because then if you are applying to LTSS, you can pickup a PVR before installation and have it setup for free...

CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is online now  
post #80 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-21, 08:18 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Shaw Direct LTSS and PVR

Am hooked up to Shaw Direct on the LTSS program through a Motorola HDDSR 600 receiver.

Wondering if I can set up a PVR on the LTSS or receiver..not too familiar with the workings of a PVR.

TXs
BeerHunter is offline  
post #81 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 09:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
BeerHunter, to get full PVR functionality, you would need one with an IR Blaster to change the channel on the HDDSR 600. AFAIK the only options for this are TIVO and a HTPC. The HTPC will give you more flexibility to also connect an antenna to receive any local broadcasts you can't get with LTSS (not sure if TIVO will switch between Sat and OTA).

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #82 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 12:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,451
You can use a standalone DVR such as a Series 2 TiVo, DVD records, or PC tuner with IR blaster, regardless if you have LTSS or not. I use a Series 2 TiVo with my DSR315 (on normal subscription though), and it works great.
classicsat is offline  
post #83 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 01:38 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,991
However, those are SD picture quality only. For recording HD, he would need a PVR from Shaw Direct - seems like that's possible based on post 79. Or an HTPC running a Hauppauge. All discussed in the Following links:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=14099 Recording HD (Hauppauge and HTPC)

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=50162 Recording to DVD, PC, etc.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #84 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 01:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
classicsat, I agree, the connection is the same as if you were a full Shaw Direct subscriber (you are only limited by the channels you are authorized to receive). My question is can you connect both a sat box and an antenna to your TiVo at the same time?

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #85 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 01:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
For those with an HD capable box, are they given access HD versions of the channels, or does the LTSS programme limit them to the SD version only?

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #86 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 02:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,769
jhawkins would be the only one who would know that, so we would have to see what he says...

CM4228, CM4220HD, Samsung LNT3242H, AccessHD DTA1080D, RCA DTA800, CM7775, Samsung DTB-H260F, Samsung LN40B750
alebowgm is online now  
post #87 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 02:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,099
My father was issued a HDDSR600, 120 kms NE of Winnipeg, He only gets Channels
32 CBC Wpg,
33 CTV Wpg,
34 Global Wpg,
74 CityTV Wpg,
788 SRC Wpg and
23 CTV2 Alberta as there is no CTV2 in Wpg.
as well as the usual... 2 Shaw Direct, 9 Knowledge, 105 Shaw Direct Weather (interactive), 288 AMI Audio, 290 BC Leg, 299 Shaw Direct (copy of Ch #2), 492 CKUA Radio (Does Not Show in Guide), 739 Shaw Direct Weather (same as 105)


All the stations are in SD even though the originating feeds in Winnipeg are available in HD.

One other note, the NFL game on City TV Sunday was Blacked out, even though it was available OTA in Winnipeg (I wonder if City TV is aware of this?), apparently because SportNet had the rights to it. I hope that isn't the case for any other program that is covered by another provider it will be very frustrating for him! Otherwise he is very happy with his new "FVVSS"
"Farmer Vision Via Satellite Service", or LTSS - Local Television Satellite Solution as Shaw Direct calls it!

If Life is a Highway,...then why is there no end to this dirtroad?

Last edited by dirtroad; 2012-10-22 at 09:57 PM. Reason: added info
dirtroad is offline  
post #88 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-23, 12:27 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
That points out some major deficiencies in Shaw Direct's service. For one, people are losing local HDTV signals but they are only being supplied SDTV receivers and signals. The local signals are also not being supplied unmodified, as they should be. If you want to get really picky, the signals being lost are unencrypted and unprotected and easily recorded in HD with an HD OTA DVR (Tivo, HTPC, etc.) Therefore, Canadians losing HDTV service should be supplied with a receiver that delivers an unmodified, unencrypted HDTV HD output free of copy protection. What do they get?

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #89 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-23, 07:14 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryBob View Post
That points out some major deficiencies in Shaw Direct's service. For one, people are losing local HDTV signals but they are only being supplied SDTV receivers and signals.
They are getting this for FREE. Guess who's subsidizing this?

They didn't have HD signals from these channels before the analog/digital change over.

They have lost nothing and paid nothing. Want to complain - phone Bell - ask for a free system.
Bent But is offline  
post #90 of 251 (permalink) Old 2012-10-23, 09:28 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryBob View Post
people are losing local HDTV signals but they are only being supplied SDTV receivers and signals.
I agree with Bent But. I am not aware of any broadcasters that are shutting down their HD transmitters. The only people losing service are losing analog SD service.

Shaw is coming out smelling like roses in all of this. Not only are they providing this free service, but they are in the process of converting all of their analog transmitters to digital, where others are shutting down their remaining analog transmitters.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome