HDPVR 630 - Version 04.06 Owners Discussion - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by tico View Post
OPTIONS 4-7 Lines H and it will tell you if you are targeted...


Finally got it. Took 5 tries, last one after a hard reboot. Was about to try a factory reset if that didn't work.
Does this mean a reset can actually force the pvr to be targeted? I'm anxious to get this update -- I had two tuner freezes yesterday and one reboot.
smsat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 01:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,322
Does this mean a reset can actually force...

See post #1:

Quote:
If your receiver has not been targeted, it is not possible to force the update. All units will be targeted and upgraded over the coming days.
jbracing24 is offline  
post #93 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Just got targeted and begun the download... It's okay to leave the box on while I look at a screen of numbers?? LOL

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
 
post #94 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post
Well aware of what I need to do to get 3D. I have several hundred hours of 3D in side by side format on my Directv DVR.

Also, the previous broadcasts on 233 worked exactly as expected.

This one did not - in fact, not enough HDMI header info was being passed that I could not even manually force the TVs 3D circuits to activate.
Which 3D TV do you have?

I have a Panasonic VT25 and when it comes to channel 233 I've always had to manually set the 3D mode to side by side even though the TV was set to auto detect. It was like that with my previous 530 receiver as well as the new 630 both pre and post update.

BTW very interesting to read that Directv's equipment works.
Pooch15 is offline  
post #95 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:29 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 468
Hey GaryE- Im targeted- but how do you prompt/force the download- would rather do it now than overnight and screw up my recordings! Cheers

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
post #96 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Options-4-9-7-7-2 Then select "Start Download".

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #97 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 118
Got mine last night. One area that has some improvements is with the "music" section. One can now directly type in a channel number and go to that channel. But...With the 5xx series one could toggle between show track info or not. Showing would give a brief display then fade to black. The 630 seems to keep the track info on permanently.
There does seem to be a considerable increase in response time as well when using the remote.
Ralph2 is offline  
post #98 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 468
AWESOME... looked everywhere for that! Thanks!

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
post #99 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 02:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph2 View Post
Got mine last night. One area that has some improvements is with the "music" section. One can now directly type in a channel number and go to that channel. But...With the 5xx series one could toggle between show track info or not. Showing would give a brief display then fade to black. The 630 seems to keep the track info on permanently.
You've always been able to punch in the channel number directly for the music channels and the info box has always stayed on screen. There has been discussion on here on how to try and get rid of the info box but I guess that hasn't been fixed yet.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #100 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 03:19 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbracing24 View Post
See post #1:
I did see that in post 1, but wanted to inquire about the members statement. I am now targeted so no worries.

Thanks
smsat is offline  
post #101 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 04:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal South shore
Posts: 245
Talking Targeted and downloading

I called to add on some programming today and asked to be targeted. It didn't work when the csr (very nice customer service BTW) hit the 630, but it worked to activate PPVs ordering. I left for a couple of hours and I see now I'm targeted. I've started the download.
velix is offline  
post #102 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 04:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
been reading here for months since i got the 630...have had nothing but problems since day one....wife got that ticked off at how it worked i had to put it in the bedroom and put my 530 in the main viewing room...just did a forced update but the guide would not populate so i did a soft reset and am waiting for it to load now.....hopefully i can return it to the main room....after reading all the problems the 630 had i kept the 530 just in case...as for the 530 i have only had 2 or 3 minor issues in the last 2 years ...heres hoping the 630 is useable for the whole family now
Satman61 is offline  
post #103 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 04:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Thumbs up

Got the update installed. Channel surfing has become much faster. I love it. After it was all installed decided to do a factory reset and wipe everything out and reprogram everything. Start over nice and fresh. Now hopefully I can enjoy the PVR without it rebooting all the time.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #104 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 05:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1
Closed Captions

In the 4.06 software version, if want to quickly enable or disable closed captions without using the options menus... just hit <HELP>, <C> and the captions will turn on or off (you can see it on the LCD).

~Alexander
Shaw Direct Product Team
SatMonkey is offline  
post #105 of 540 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 05:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 844
Problem still exists.
Well, when you come out of watching a recorded show, it may or may not highlight the the show you were just watching depending on background activity. too bad, not terrible.

I did see some pixelation though watching TSN2HD

I noticed now the alternate receiver when viewing signal quality shows channel 0 (nothing was recording). The receivers still seem to toggle when changing channels and the first receiver toggles to 0. I wonder if this was an attempt to combat pixelation. If so, didn't really work. I was worried when the 1st post never really addressed pixelation. Now, it has been getting better, but I never noticed it on the 530. Only TSN2HD so far. No other HD and no SD channels. I will keep tabs on where and what is happening if I see it again. Both tuners are showing well above 90. I have not done any resets yet, so I will do that.



So.... when is the next update due?
smp01 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome