Shaw Direct 2011 New Channels Discussion - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 08:33 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryE View Post
I can get Global Montreal by punching in the channel number but its not showing up in my guide. I have a 630. I did a front panel reset and no luck.
You don't have the guide on a favorites list, right?
Jables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 10:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Did the online rehit... it worked.
Thanks Q

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #48 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 06:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 259
With the addition of 329 did we lose 340?
Miles is offline  
 
post #49 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 07:16 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Shaw Direct Employee
Posts: 301
Hi Miles,

No channels were removed on January 31. If you're missing any channels on your HDPVR 630 or HDDSR 605, perform a Front Panel Reset and they'll come back.

(Assuming the issue isn't caused by Parental Controls, a Favourites List, or the channel appearing as Unsubscribed for you).
SD 630 Support is offline  
post #50 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-03, 11:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,147
Shaw Direct will be adding several locals this year; most of which are stations that are eligible for LPIF.

These channels are likely candidates for addition to Shaw Direct this year. Not saying all of them will get added but most (if not all; will probably come from this list)
CHAT Medicine Hat
CHBC Kelowna
CBET Windsor
CFRE Regina
CFQC Saskatoon
CBAT Fredericton
CBCT Charlottetown
CKCO Kitchener
CHWI Weatley
CFVS Val-d'Or
CFKM Trois-Rivières
CFTF Rivière-du-Loup
CHEM Trois-Rivières
CFEM Rouyn-Noranda
CBVT Quebec
CKTV Saguenay
CBKFT Regina
CKRT Rivière-du-Loup
CISA Lethbridge

Not likely to be added:
CIIT Winnipeg
CHMI Portage La Prairie
CHNU Surray
CJNT Montreal
CBLFT Toronto
CKXT Toronto (It's going off-air soon anyway)
CKCS Calgary
CKES Edmonton
CHNM Vancouver
CJEO Edmonton
CJCO Calgary
bigoranget is offline  
post #51 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-04, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bay of Fundy
Posts: 354
bigoranget:
Will they broadcast these channels fully, or will they do a "locals" channnel(s) for news, special events, and such?
I think BTV has it right in this regards with their local channels.
rpokane is offline  
post #52 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-04, 02:01 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 844
Great more channels airing the exact same programming, looks like another excuse to jack up prices.

Quote:
Not likely to be added:
CIIT Winnipeg
CHMI Portage La Prairie
CHNU Surray
CJNT Montreal
CBLFT Toronto
CKXT Toronto (It's going off-air soon anyway)
CKCS Calgary
CKES Edmonton
CHNM Vancouver
CJEO Edmonton
CJCO Calgary
Why are these channels not likely to be added?! I think they should add CHNM Vancouver (OMNI BC) at the very least so you have an East/West freed for OMNI TV. Is there no interest from viewers in this channel OR is is SD that has no interest in adding it?! I also hope CHNU-TV (Joytv 10) is among the channels they will be adding, Zoomermedia has added quite a few classic TV shows to the lineup of this channel and I would love to be able to watch them.
PlayitSimple is offline  
post #53 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-04, 02:38 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Labrador City, NF.
Posts: 61
Sure it's good to add all these sd channels for people that don't have HD, but the future is HD so I hope there is alot of HD channels to be added soon, I know there is a nice few out there that we don't have yet.
duleylake is offline  
post #54 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-04, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West
Posts: 510
I have Shaw Cable, so I get CHNU & CHNM, but I'm also surprised Shaw Direct won't be adding them.

--Castle
CastleRockDays is offline  
post #55 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-04, 06:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
I say we have enough CBC,CTV & Global Channels let's get something else,
good US Channels instead of watered down versions. I mean man I live near Dawson Creek (B.C.) I have a whole wack of Canadian content,Im not going to become a disloyal citizen if I watch some American T.V.
sawguyg is offline  
post #56 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-20, 05:32 AM
ewn
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Al-Jazeera English

How about adding Al-Jazeera English to the lineup? They're already doing it on cable.
ewn is offline  
post #57 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-20, 01:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: quebec
Posts: 59
http://twitter.com/#!/ShawDirect_News

http://twitter.com/#!/ShawDirect_Fr


ils indiquent que tsn est free jusqu'au 28 fevrier
yakamoneye is offline  
post #58 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-20, 04:27 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 118
I have been disappointed tha SD has been late to add A.J.E. to the line up. We in Canada pride ourselves in having varied perpectives on current events shaping our world. Recent events in the middle east suggest the importance of thorough news coverage from all points of view. I too would welcome Al Jazeera to Shaw Direct.
Yoshi is offline  
post #59 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-20, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshi View Post
I have been disappointed tha SD has been late to add A.J.E. to the line up. I too would welcome Al Jazeera to Shaw Direct.
Shaw Cable has AJE, so I'm kinda shocked to hear that Shaw Direct doesn't have it.

--Castle
CastleRockDays is offline  
post #60 of 356 (permalink) Old 2011-02-21, 09:14 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 240
I am likewise concerned that we can not access A.J.E. especially with the rapidly unfolding events in the Middle East and North Africa. North American coverage is dismal and while BBC world is not bad, it is nowhere near as comprehensive as A.J.E.

I submitted a query to " Ask Jim" and got the usual canned response within minutes of submitting a request.
Quote:
" We do not have any updates regarding the addition of Al Jazeera to our channel lineup here at Shaw Direct at this time. However, we have submitted your channel request to the proper team for further review...... etc. etc.
Maybe it is time to take a tip from the people in the Middle East and raise hell with Shaw. :-)
skifan is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome