Clock problems - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-03, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Clock problems

Has anyone else had problems with the clock on the 530? Mine runs about 1:20 late, so I end up missing the first minute or so of shows I record. I can go into the "Options" then "Timers" function to manually adjust the start times of each show, but it's a hassle. Any recommendations?
1Norcalman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-03, 10:58 PM
MSM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 174
Actually, I found on my 530 (replaced by a 630) that I consistently missed the last minute of most recorded shows - so it was a similar problem. The front panel time display though was accurate, but the recordings started early. I always assumed that the receiver got its time from the satellite, so its probably not a clock problem, but a recording problem. (I don't have the problem on the 630)
MSM is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-03, 11:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
I've been having the same problem as 1Norcalman with my 505. It runs a full minute to a minute and a half behind, it says 11:13 now and my computer says 11:14. Its been happening for a while, but I'm not sure exactly how long.
NB Josh is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-04, 07:46 AM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
That was always a problem missing the last minute of a show with my two 530 receivers. Had to just put up with the wife nagging about it all the time. With the 530 being limited with the one tuner single recording made it hard to just add a minute to every show.
QCK is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-04, 03:32 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 301
Me too

my 630 seems to be a minute slow. I have a clock automatically set by WWV and is usually withing a fraction of a second of NIST time. and the PVR is usually about a minute behind that. so I tend to miss a minute or so of the beginning of a show.

setting early start doesn't work when you are recording consecutive shows that are on different channels and you are watching something else. so that's not a good workaround.

Dave
VE3DVY
dmoes is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 10:23 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Shaw Direct Employee
Posts: 301
Hi Everyone,

We spoke with the folks at our Broadcast group and they made a couple of adjustments on Friday afternoon. Based on my testing over the weekend, everything looks good again with respect to recordings starting at the expected time.

If anyone is still experiencing this issue, let us know the channel name/number and program and we will investigate further.

Thanks!
SD 630 Support is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 11:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
The clock on my 505 is correct again now. Thanks for fixing this.
NB Josh is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-01-24, 03:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
My 530's clock seems to be behind by at least 1 minute. This is messing with the beginning and ending of all recorded programs on all channels.
Coachjd51 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-01-24, 06:31 AM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
Yes the 630s are off too, I'm missing the last 30 secsonds of shows all the time now. I wish SD would be on top of this.
QCK is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-01-24, 10:22 AM
mab
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Woodlawn, Ontario
Posts: 15
Are you watching mostly HD? I find the clocks are off by about a minute on some HD channels. Of course it varies base upon which clock is being examined. The front panel clock is different from the OSD clock, which is different from the timer reminder clock, which is different from the timer auto-tune clock.
mab is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-01-24, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,469
I have two 505's which seem to be about 75 seconds different in their time keeping.

LONSat
LONSat is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-01-24, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Last week I actually watched my 505s go ahead 2 minutes, then back 2 and then back one. End result them being slow 1 minute. All good again. Happened during guide update.
kriskadela is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-01-31, 02:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 468
My 505 runs a minute ahead of my 530 all the time.
kcowan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome