Shaw Direct Satellite Installation Discussions - See Post 1 - Page 55 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 24Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #811 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-02-06, 12:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 15
If it happens on all receivers, then it is one of four options, dish not aligned, lnb issue, one of the lines to the multiwitch or the multiswitch.

Best solution is just hook a receiver up direct to the lnb and go from there.
JackBauer009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-02-06, 12:22 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,230
Ok, that would make sense on all fronts. What doesn’t make sense is the time issue. 20 point drop, instantly, at the same time each day. That, to me, says atmospheric anomaly or transmission interference.
tvmaster is offline  
post #813 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-02-06, 02:39 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
...at the same time each day. That, to me, says atmospheric anomaly or transmission interference.
It can also mean that some sort of device in the home that draws a lot of power is coming on at that time, causing a voltage drop (or other electrical interference) that can sometimes affect other (especially weaker) electronics. This can be something like a furnace, or dryer, or stove, or saw or microwave, or hairdryer, or whatever. Do you have something that comes on at (roughly) the same time that you encounter these issues?

This (voltage drop or electronic interference) could affect any of the electronic devices (or even cables that have "leaks") in your Satellite system.
Allan B likes this.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #814 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-02-09, 11:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Central Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1
Dish pointing

Does Shaw dish point the same direction as explornet dish. If so how different r they. Is Shaw more to the left of explornet or right.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MADTRAPPER is offline  
post #815 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-02-13, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,230
Looks like the multiswitch was my problem, although I’m not entirely sure why. There is a thread and photos over in the multiswitch discussion area - please have a look and offer opinions. The differing frequency abilities of each unit is of interest, or maybe the Phillips just failed. Unsure. What still doesn’t make sense is that even if the Sat A inputs were failing, or were of a frequency mis-match, why was the time-of-day an issue (which now, it isn’t)?
tvmaster is offline  
post #816 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-09-19, 04:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,815
Simple setup as test

When we were on vacation 2 years ago our sat setup quit a few weeks before the end. I just lived with it and now assume the lnb failed. I want a quick test at home with a new 75 dish but do not have tripod etc here, just dish arm lnb receiver tv. Any quick stable way to align and test?
gzink is offline  
post #817 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-09-19, 08:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 513
@gzink I don't know if this is quick, but I have a five gallon bucket about halfway filled with concrete with a plumb pole in the middle that I use. It takes about 30 minutes to make, you check it every 15 minutes to make sure the pole stays plumb as the concrete sets, and it's ready in about 24 hours.
For something quicker, I'm wondering if a bucket filled with pea gravel would be stable enough for a quick check.
LONSat and RuralRouter like this.
frenchophile is offline  
post #818 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-09-19, 08:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,496
@gzink @frenchophile 's solution is probably best unless you have an already set 4x4 fence post you can temporarily attach the mount to and plumb the mast up. If the pole or post is not quite plumb just make sure the mast is adjusted to be plumb. Shaw Direct takes slow adjustments of the dish to lock and peak signal so you need to make a least a temporary solid installation. Typically you wouldn't be able to hold the dish "steady" to find a signal.

LONSat
LONSat is offline  
post #819 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-09-19, 07:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,399
A 24" patio stone or a piece of plywood weighted down with bricks or sandbags works as a stable base as well. Just about any kind of base or post will work as long as it's stable and level.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #820 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-10-17, 07:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 309
With all the channel shifts to the National lineup, what channels should we use for dish pointing now?
JasperJoe is online now  
post #821 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-10-22, 04:00 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 697
Cool

I just used a landscaping tie I had lying around and nailed it to a short retaining wall (temporarily of course) and made certain its plumb. Then use "U" clamps made from 3/8" or 1/4" redi rod or buy a couple U Clamps like this:


Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #822 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-10-23, 05:22 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 513
@JasperJoe I would stick with City Toronto until told otherwise
frenchophile is offline  
post #823 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-10-23, 08:17 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 697
JasperJoe and frenchophile,

I'm now a fan of tuning to the channel that's the most important to you and your family. If you watch say TSN HD more than any other, then fine tune to it.

If you watch some US station like ABC HD more, then tune to it instead. If your favorite channel is used for fine tuning then it will fail as late as possible in case of a heavy snow or rainstorm.

I hope this is helpful.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #824 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-10-31, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 175
When changing from a Quad old LNB to the Xku triple....should I replace the old lnb with the new first and then call shaw to change my receivers to the Xku code. Or should I leave the old on...have them hit the receivers and then do the swap of the LNB's?

Thanks for any info
stephimoe is offline  
post #825 of 827 (permalink) Old 2019-10-31, 03:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Brackendale, BC
Posts: 6
Replace the old lnb with the new Xku lnb, then call Shaw Direct to upgrade the maps.
stephimoe and RuralRouter like this.
brack is offline  
Reply

Tags
burlington , cogeco , halton , shaw direct

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome