Ask Jim response to 530 update cancellation - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 03:21 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
I'll go out on a limb...

and suggest the hardware WAS capable of doing all the things they wanted to, but poor management, improper development techniques and inadequate testing were the root cause.

I know they have made at least some improvements via automated test methods, what I don't know is the caliber of those currently coding the unit as they lost 2 very good programmers a few years back along with a spirited program manager with real vision and drive to have it reach it's full potential.

Why management at the time would see fit to derail a program is beyond me.

If I'm wrong, then everybody wins. (Everybody should hope I'm wrong)
If I'm right, then nothing has really changed, and from lesson learned from M$, throwing more CPU and memory can only cover bad coding and design for so long.
I believe the fundamental architecture is flawed.
Unless the 6XX is truly a rewrite from the ground up.
Along with some fundamental H/W changes as well.
But given the investment made for legacy code to GIST (Blue Wiener Bar Guide) and licensee fees for OpenTV, I can't see them walking away from all that.

The problem is Shaw continues to make money in spite of it self, but it's stock would do a lot better if they really got behind a program as they have done in other areas and become market leaders in all business divisions.

The re branding to Shaw Direct is a slap in the face to what was once a good and respected name in the marketplace, but the unit appears to still be viewed as the ugly daughter of the family.
Moose57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 235
If it does what it was intended to do, then the problem is how it was marketed and presented to consumers. Clearly it should have been marketed as only a digital VCR right from the start, and never should have been alluded to being a PVR.

As soon as it was announced I pre-ordered mine. It was pitched to me as being able to dual-record. After I received it and it did not actually dual record I phoned in and was told that function "was coming soon".

Before I bought I was also assured that other PVR functions would be "coming soon" as well.

That was what? Five years ago now? None of the things they told me turned out to be true.

In my opinion the 530 has yet to do what it was intended to do -- or at least it has never done what it was marketed as doing.

I consider the 630 a replacement for the 530. They can replace the hardware they sold me that does not do what it was supposed to with hardware that will do what they sold me. Free of charge.

Anyone else feel this way? Those of us who bought the 530 when it was released -- did you feel back then that you were not getting a PVR? That you were only buying a digital VCR that wasn't intended to be like other providers PVRs? I sure didn't.

ATV3 / Unblock-US / Netflix / HuluPlus / Samsung LNT3242H
ElenaH is offline  
post #18 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 03:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
it should have been marketed as only a digital VCR
Most would agree that the PVR is a recorder with a hard drive rather than a cassette tape, capable of recording HD programs in 1080i in the case of the 530. Wasn't it marketed as a dual tuner with "chase" recording? Dual recording capability was only part of the ill-fated software update promises.

Curious...what does one do other than record TV programs with a PVR, just like we did with a VCR? At least it is one button recording. Try that with a VCR unless it had a flasher control. You can also watch one channel while recording another. Again, try that with a VCR.

I still use a VCR regularly to record sports, vigorously avoiding the 530 for a number of reasons, including the early reliability and stability issues. It will remain to be seen whether the 630 improvements are worthy of consideration.
jbracing24 is offline  
 
post #19 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 03:57 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 115
New 630

I don't know if SD is going to be using the Motorola DCX3400 like Shaw Cable for the DSR630, but Shaw Cable just started rolling theirs out in June for $398. And according to a SC customer they are not offering a rebate on trade in's of old DSR's. See post below:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...&postcount=169
dmbcanada is offline  
post #20 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 05:39 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Richmond, BC. Shaw Direct: DSR 630, DSR 600, DSR 505
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbcanada View Post
I don't know if SD is going to be using the Motorola DCX3400 like Shaw Cable for the DSR630, but Shaw Cable just started rolling theirs out in June for $398. And according to a SC customer they are not offering a rebate on trade in's of old DSR's. See post below:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...&postcount=169
But The difference with Shaw Cable is that the DCT 3416/3412 and 6416/6412 have done everything they promised they would.

-HDMI Connectivity
-Series Record
-Record Two Programs at the Same Time
-Watch a Recorded Program while Recording two Programs

So there is no need for Shaw to upgrade customers to the DCX line because they have never failed on a promise.

Customers with the Pace HD+ Shaw PVR Expander on the other hand...
seanwrestledude is offline  
post #21 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 110
Ho my god,

You guys are right. Since 2005 DVR530 has never delivery the potentiel that it was suppose to.

Now Shaw has the opportunity to change the way we feel for all those years of waiting. After 4 replacement, I think it time for us to be happy.

We need an exchange for free. JoBel
JoBel is offline  
post #22 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 10:28 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 138
Ain't gonna happen. Hope I'm wrong.
mrbean5411 is offline  
post #23 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 10:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
I was over at a friends electronic store today and he is a Shaw Direct dealer. He said that he is now blowing the 530's out at $199.00(New Sealed in the box) and said that Shaw Direct told him to expect the 605/630 in stock around the last week of Aug at a $399.00 price tag for the 630. He also told me that even he could not get a straight answer of why the 530 updates have been scrapped.
Blackloz is offline  
post #24 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 11:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
I think by canceling the update completely, they hope to drive sales of the 630.

399 is a great price point. Now we just need to figure out if the new features will be available on the new models at launch or very soon after launch.
TJ77 is offline  
post #25 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-08, 11:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sask.
Posts: 134
Either the new features will be available on the new models at launch or they won't. I don't think too many SD customers are going to fall for the "coming soon" scam twice.
Mike P. is offline  
post #26 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-09, 01:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ77 View Post
399 is a great price point.
$399 is a "competitive price" with most PVR's out there. Telus' PVR lists at $399 as well but really sells for $249 currently which isn't related to a new customer special.

So lets start a 530 "trade in pool".
Half price if you trade in a 530 - $199?
Maybe only $100 off - $299?
A token trade up price of $99?
Maybe 1 for free but full price for additonal 530's on an account?

Then what about 505 to 605 trade ins and pricing?
Box likely $199 but maybe only $149 as full price?
ae_collector is offline  
post #27 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-09, 01:54 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
I highly doubt they will want the 505/530's back. They didn't want the 500's back when 8psk started.
I guess they could refurbish them and use them as sd models...

Shaw knows that many people will be upset by having to upgrade. I think the price will be fair, but it won't be free.
TJ77 is offline  
post #28 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-09, 02:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
The more "old" boxes they get rid of the less they have out there causing more grief in the future. I thought it possible they might give a better trade in if the old box is destroyed or sent back.
ae_collector is offline  
post #29 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-09, 02:51 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ77
the new features will be available on the new models at launch or very soon after launch
So what is considered very soon after launch?
5 years of B.S. and then NOTHING!

And just how soon after the 'promised' launch, will launch actually be?

People that don't care anymore don't really need an answer, but somebody needs to go on record and ask.
Moose57 is offline  
post #30 of 110 (permalink) Old 2010-07-09, 09:35 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Regina
Posts: 721
But you know your not going to get a straight answer,don't you.
painter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome