Tough installation - Location - Help PLease - Page 18 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 20Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #256 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-13, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
Hi Folks,

On our last trip to the Cabin a couple weeks back, the neighbor was complaining he was missing more and more channels. I suspect that Shaw Direct's continued shuffling of channels from Bird to Bird is what's causing this. Do you happen to have a list for what channel is on what Bird worked out yet for when this is all complete (September sometime I heard?)

The issue is we still have a dead Cable from the dish to the Multiswitch and I'll need figure out, when all the shuffling is completed, which line we can do without. Hopefully one feed will not have too much impact. (It would be easy if they put all the French Channels on one feed like they used to have.)

Of course the move to a "National" channel map will confuse the neighbor for months too.

Thanks for the assist.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #257 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-14, 02:12 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,054
Jimsathome your sig says your in Canada so I don't know why your friend would have trouble b'cuz its just south of Canada that ppl can't get G1, but anyway if you look at the thread Shaw South of Canada you will see that somebody has posted a handy list of channels that will be on G1 this fall and ppl who can't get G1 won't get them.
Bayguy is offline  
post #258 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-14, 02:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
@Bayguy I believe @Jimsathome issue is that he has at least one dead feed line so he will be missing some signals be they vertical or horizontal from one orbital slot. As Shaw drops Std Def signals the HD version might be on a line in his deadzone. I believe he optimized the lines a while ago to get the best feed of available channels. Tomorrow will probably introduce some more loss as over 60 Std Def channels drop and if the way his lines are configured the HD is not available then. The signals are going to be increasingly from G1 and F2 so he is going to loose more channels as signals drop from F1R which is colocated with G1.
Jimsathome likes this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
 
post #259 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-15, 01:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
Cool Making Progress Slowly

LONSat is right on. The issue is probably getting worse every day. The best scenario is all French channels and the remaining SD channels are on one feed. The problem is to map them all once they stabilize.

I advised earlier I disconnected 13V/10KHz feed. It should have been 13V/22KHz. (My Bad!) That's the F2 Vertical channels which seemed to have SD Channels (when HD is preferred anyway), French Channels, times shifted CTV channels, and a lot of unsubscribed Shaw Direct Pay stuff when I disconnected it.

By the way, I already subscribe to that South of Canada Thread. Years ago I helped a local bar in Mexico tweak their system to bring in the Stanley Cup Playoffs in HD when they thought only SD was available. I was a Hero for a few hours!

At least from that feed I'll know on what's on G1. That only leave F2 and F1R to go.

At least I can start reviewing / researching again at these two Sites:

Code:
https://www.lyngsat.com/packages/Shaw-Direct-107W.html and https://www.lyngsat.com/packages/Shaw-Direct-111W.html
And I found some data at Shaw Direct:

Code:
https://www.shawdirect.ca/english/support/article/11268/
The Cable 4 Feeds are:

13V. That's the F1R/G1 Vertical Transponders

13V/22KHz. That's the F2 Vertical Transponders

17V That's the F1R/G1 Horizontal Transponders

17V/22KHz. That's the F2 Horizontal Transponders

My current Multiswitch has 17V input whereas other are labeled 18V.

Regards,
Jim

Last edited by Jimsathome; 2019-08-15 at 03:00 AM.
Jimsathome is offline  
post #260 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-15, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
I just did a quick (?) pass on the Lyngsat sites and if it would hold as it is right now (their charts were updated on August 14th), the feed to lose is obviously F1r/G1 Horizontal Transponders which connect to 17V input on the Multiswitch. I'll have to cross reference the upcoming changes in concert with LONSat's edited lineup from the South of Canada Thread. (Thanks).

But it's time for bed. Work in the morning...

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #261 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-17, 01:34 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,054
Okay thank you Lonsat. I don't quite understand about having one dead feed b'cuz we only have one feedline and we get all the channels. Well all the channels on the F satellites. I guess if you want G1 you need more cables but we can't get G1 here so it doesn't matter to us.
Bayguy is offline  
post #262 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-17, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
Cool It's all about the Data

Hi Bayguy.

Please remember this is installed at a Cabin on a lake in BC - near Kamloops and normally would be able to receive feeds from all 3 Birds.

Normally the 4 outputs from the Xku LNB can be directly connected to 4 tuners (a receiver with a PVR has 2 tuners and typically requires two connections). In this installation, because we wanted 6+ outputs (3 to our Cabin and 3 to the neighbors house) it requires a multiswitch. For normal functionality the 4 outputs from the Xku LNB tuner all need to be connected to the inputs of the multiswitch. That will allow any tuner (receiver) connected to the outputs of the multiswitch to select any channel desired. To do this the multiswitch tunes each of the outputs of the LNB permanently to a defined set of frequencies (think groups of channels set by Shaw Direct) as follows:

13V. That's the F1R/G1 Vertical Transponders

13V/22KHz. That's the F2 Vertical Transponders

17V That's the F1R/G1 Horizontal Transponders

17V/22KHz. That's the F2 Horizontal Transponders

But one of the cables from the LNB to the multiswitch has gone bad (probably crushed => shorted; or cut => open circuit - which is what I'm thinking is the case here) so the issue is which set of channels can we live without => if we don't get to replacing the 300+ foot buried cable before winter sets in. I live & work in Metro Vancouver and really don't have much vacation time left to get to this, and the neighbor (who lives there all year round with his wife and really benefits from it during those long winters) is 75 and long retired (and this stuff is well beyond his technical level anyway). I spend about 14 days a year at the Cabin (on a good year), almost all during the summer when we don't watch much TV other than the news or the CFL.

Anyway, compounding the problem is Shaw Direct is shuffling things around and doesn't supply the info of what channels will be on what Feed (or transponder) when all is complete in late September.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #263 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-17, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
@Jimsathome

At this link https://www.shawbroadcast.com/Content/English/mpeg4.htm look for Final outcome F1R F2 phase 3

I think the next link will take you directly to excel sheet

https://www.shawbroadcast.com/Docume...-%20Clean.xlsm

The channels moving from G! are going to F2 tp17 and tp32 both Horizontal polarity if that helps decide things.
Jimsathome likes this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #264 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-18, 01:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
Cool Hopefully I've got this sorted correctly...

Thanks LONSat.

The choice really boils down to the F1R / G1 Feeds. (13V. That's the F1R/G1 Vertical Transponders or 17V That's the F1R/G1 Horizontal Transponders). The vast majority of watchable signals in English are on F2; so it's not even in the conversation.

To me it looks like Shaw Direct is treating F1R / G1 Feeds as F1R only in the spreadsheet. Or am I missing something here? Please advise.

If that's true, then it's an obvious choice as losing the F1R/G1 Horizontal Transponders (17V feed) knocks off only the 3 transponders (T17, T18, & T19 =>and their related channels below); and one of them (T19) is all French Channels which the neighbor doesn't subscribe to anyway (nor do we).

T17
Bell Media
Bravo
CTV 2 Alberta
Much Music
Space
M3
E!
Investigation Dis.
TSN5 SD


T18
Bell Media
TSN 1
TSN 2
Discovery
CTV News Channel
Comedy E
MTV Canada
CHIN
TSN Blackout
CP24
FASHION

T19
V Sherbr HD (MP4)
TVA Sherbr HD (MP4)
TVA Quebec HD (MP4)
V Quebec HD (MP4)
TVA Chicoutimi HD (MP4)
TVA Rimouski HD (MP4)
V Saguenay HD (MP4)
SPM 1 SD (MP4)
Avis de Recherche SD (MP4)
11 French Radio

The TSN1,2, & 5 feeds on T18 are available in HD on F2; as is Discovery.

I'm not certain but i doubt the neighbor has Much Music, Space, E1, MTV Canada, Comedy E, or the rest of these channels subscribed anyway. (At 75 years old it doesn't fit his profile.)

Hopefully I've got this sorted correctly. If anyone has any comment or corrections, please post away.

Thanks for the assist.

Regards,
Jim

Last edited by 57; 2019-08-18 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
Jimsathome is offline  
post #265 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-18, 09:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
The spreadsheet I linked to is only F1R and F2 no G1 signals included. Tp17 and tp 18 are Bell Media controlled. Once Shaw is down with the conversion those Standard Definition signals will no longer be accessed and mapped to our receivers. You will have to find the HD versions on F2.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #266 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-19, 12:55 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
Thanks LONSat.

That's what I was afraid of.

I'll cross reference your "redline" New Channel Lineup (Numerical) from you post here: https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/3088525-post1595.html with the details above and see what causes less pain.

Edit: I just had a quick look and it definitely still looks like the F1R / G1 bird combo will be the one I try to leave off first. The neighbor won't like losing the local CFJC Kamloops in HD and maybe a few others. LONSat, any chance you can advise which ones of the redlined channels on your list are going to be on Vertical (or Horizontal) transponders, so I can nail down the potential impact before October? If you have the info you could just list say these channels will be Vertical: 101, 102, 103, 110, 111, 112, 199, 200, 202, 416, 427 etc. I could work with that.

Thanks for the assist.

Regards,
Jim

Last edited by Jimsathome; 2019-08-19 at 01:10 AM. Reason: A Quick Look at G1 Channels after Shaw Switches them to HD.
Jimsathome is offline  
post #267 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-19, 09:58 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
Ask and you shall receive

@Jimsathome Hopefully this helps

https://drive.google.com/file/d/18Zz...ew?usp=sharing

The file at the link above lists all the final channel locations based on available information and is sorted based on V/H and slot. Hopefully that will help make interim and final decisions. I have left off the Bell Media controlled transponders as they will soon not be mapped to us as end users. Good Luck.
frenchophile and Jimsathome like this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #268 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-20, 09:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,392
@Jimsathome You said in a reply above that the chart had been updated as of Aug 14. The date at the top the page doesn't refer necessarily to the Anik bird, the date is just the date that the lyngsat site was last updated. So it could be any bird around the world. To know when a particular page has been updated you need to do a little sleuthing. Anik F2 has been updated as of Aug 19 2019. If you search the page for 1908 it will jump to 190819, short for 2019AUG19. If I am curious I search for 1908 1907 1906 and so on til I get a hit. Rinse and repeat so next month I would start looking for 1909 and if I found nothing work backwards.
Jimsathome likes this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #269 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-21, 01:13 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Coast of Canada - God's Country
Posts: 673
Thanks for the file LONSat.

It took me a while, but I could really drill down into which side (Vertical or Horizontal) of F1R / G1 should remain in play.

The F1R / G1 Horizontal side has far less video Channels at 61 with ~10 French Channels (surprisingly all on F1R Horizontal which we won't watch anyway) but it has CFJC-TV HD (Kamloops) for the neighbor.

The F1R / G1 Vertical side has 97 channels with 25 of them SD (which we won't watch). But the remainder are mostly rebroadcasts of CTV and some CBC & Global from small towns - mostly in eastern Canada, with the odd (unsubscribed) specialty channel tossed in. There are a couple we'd like to keep but sacrifices must be made!

I'm going to propose we disconnect the 13V feed. That's the F1R/G1 Vertical Transponders.

I'm taking a couple days off and will be going to the Cabin tomorrow. Hopefully this effort pays off.

Thanks for the assist.

Regards,
Jim
Jimsathome is offline  
post #270 of 275 (permalink) Old 2019-08-21, 11:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 275
@Jimsathome I've sort of loosely followed this thread. I'm curious - wouldn't slinging 300' of coax 'through the trees' be easier than all this angst about which channels to lose?
JasperJoe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome