Shaw Direct Complaint, Rant, Leaving SD Thread - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 37Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-02, 04:00 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
My Beef:

I am paying 95.00 per month and half the channels I do not even watch, but the way the packages are setup you have no choice. Allot of the packages only have one or two stations I do watch. They should allow you to pick the channels you want, but naturally they don`t.
noah12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-11, 10:12 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: eastern, ontario
Posts: 132
NHL Package Not as good as Bell

I found out this morning that Bell carried the delayed game last night from New Jersey. I tried to get it on my Shaw and wasn't being shown. I believe now I've made a mistake. We have a player from our village who plays for the Lighting, I was furious when I found out it was not available and over coffee this morning found the guys with Bell were able to watch on channel 424.
atvnut is offline  
post #123 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 05:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah12
My Beef:

I am paying 95.00 per month and half the channels I do not even watch, but the way the packages are setup you have no choice. Allot of the packages only have one or two stations I do watch. They should allow you to pick the channels you want, but naturally they don`t.
From what I've heard, it's not always up to the provider. There is this "thing" with the CRTC about having a certain amount of "Canadian Content" so they bundles are arranged as such, so they can be allowed that way. Shaw and other companies can sell certain channels by themselves. I don't see how this is a complaint at Shaw Direct, it's like this with every company....
JustinGTP is offline  
 
post #124 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 12:43 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
Justin

My cable company offers allot more pick options than Shaw but I do not want cable TV.

noah
noah12 is offline  
post #125 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 12:12 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drayton Valley, Alberta
Posts: 353
the bundles are often dictated by the network owners themselves. for example people often can't understand why they have to subscribe to either fun stuff bundle or the movie channel bundle to get playboy. it doesn't make sense til you realize that they are distributed by the same company.
lonnie is offline  
post #126 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 11:43 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
Umm...no.
To get Playboy you must subscribe to a minimum of one Canadian pay channel, in this case either Family or TMN. This is a linkage requirement imposed by the CRTC. Astral owns both Family and TMN, but not Playboy.
TJ77 is offline  
post #127 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 11:51 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 13
Shaw Direct is more expensive now. :(

I have been with a Sat dish (StarChoice originally) for about 1 year or so.
Now Starchoice is gone and Shaw Direct took over. I reside in Ottawa presently as well.

My main rant:
is the slight increase in my Bill ?. compared to what I was paying before with *C, I'm am now paying about ~$8 more per month ?!
I phoned Shaw months ago, and we went thru everything and sure enough they finally admitted that they have had a small increase in rates generally.
Has anyone else had this "slight/tiny" increase too ?
solarux is offline  
post #128 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 12:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
We all get these $2 or $3 increases. I think we all had one back in September and now all of us with the HD packages are seeing an increase as of Feb. 1st. I've been with StarChoice/Shaw Direct for years now and have had increases every year. Thankfully, as a long time customer I was able to shave about $16.00 off my monthly bill by getting rid of most of those useless timeshifting channels from across Canada.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #129 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-18, 01:56 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: victoria,b.c.
Posts: 2
mypath

I have had far to many dvr530 exchanges over the year in 2009.
A week ago I received a brand new 530 out of the box.
However the new 530 in my experience seems to have the same inherited faults.
These include powering off whenever it wants to,channel freezing,although the bottom guide advances, audio no picture,factory reset issues.
Having to pull the AC plug and waiting awhile seems to be the only way reset the unit.
After being a long time customer a change may be the way to go.

mypath
mypath is offline  
post #130 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-18, 02:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,915
I'm on my second 530.

These are some of the unusual but regular problems I have:

unit seems erratic when you give it something to do while on an HD channel

I regularly get an unsubscibed message to a channel I'm subscribed to and need to enter the channel twice to get it

sometimes a newly recorded show does not show up on the list unless I exit and re-enter.
starchoice is offline  
post #131 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 09:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
I cancelled Yesterday

Hello

I called Shaw Direct to cancel my service yesterday. I have been a 5 year subscriber and had the 530 since it first came out. I went through approx 6 530s in that amnt of time. Sunday night was the last straw for me. I was watching HD Net and my 530 rebooted itself about 15 times in about 20 minutes. I called tech support and he could not figure it out and sent me out a refurb PVR. I checked out Telus and their offers were too good to pass up and called shaw to cancel. The guy in the Retentions department asked me why i wanted to cancel and I told him that the 530 is a peice of junk and we have been promised upgrades to the guide for 4 years and that it has been tested for that long. He stated to me that there is upgrades and they are testing right now and the rollout should be soon. Then he said that it seems that nothing will keep me with them and went ahead and canceled. The only bad part is i have to pay the remaining 3months of my center ice package. I wish all of you luck with your 530's the frustration is over for me!!!!
shankall is offline  
post #132 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 02:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by shankall View Post
He stated to me that...rollout should be soon.
...and you didn't stay with that assurance?

What offers did you get from Telus?
starchoice is offline  
post #133 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
This is not a Telus thread so lets keep the discussion to Shaw please. Off-topic posts will be removed.



hugh is offline  
post #134 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-25, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 466
My 530 (original purchased in Oct09) failed to record last Sunday. We had a power outage and it rebooted and seemed to fix itself. So far so good. Can't wait for the download!
kcowan is offline  
post #135 of 651 (permalink) Old 2010-01-29, 03:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
hello from bc

Last edited by Homefrontinbc; 2010-01-29 at 04:02 AM. Reason: posted in wrong spot
Homefrontinbc is offline  
Reply

Tags
complaint , rant , shaw direct

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome