Shaw Direct Complaint, Rant, Leaving SD Thread - Page 32 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 38Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #466 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-02, 04:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 783
Monkeygirl: You need to specify Telus what versus Bell what. Both offer IPTV and Satellite TV and we don't know where you are located which would help narrow it down.

Ralph2 is talking Telus Optik (IPTV) and sawguyg is talking Telus/Bell Satellite TV.

I finally switched from Shaw D to Telus Optik about 4 years ago now out of frustration with 11 years of Shaw Direct. I worked for Telus so got an employee discount as well but in my opinion, the Telus Optik experience blows Shaw Direct away. I am writing this while vacationing in Hawaii. An hour or so ago I set up a bunch of recording events for the new season of TV programs so they will be waiting for me when I get home.

Terry

-- Retired TELUS Employee so I Don't Speak for TELUS --
ae_collector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #467 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-04, 02:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Creston BC
Posts: 27
Question Hd news channels

I have been waiting a long time for a hi-def Canadian news channel, does anybody out there know if CBC or CTV has one. Does anybody know if Shaw Direct has a plan to broadcast them.
bravo 1 is offline  
post #468 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-04, 03:11 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
Rogers carries CBC - News Network and CTV News Channel in HD. Not sure about Shaw Direct.

http://www.cbc.ca/programguide/daily..._news_network/

http://www.ctvnews.ca/ctv-news-channel

Rogers also carries CP24 in HD, again, not sure about Shaw Direct.


Edit - According to the following link, not available on Shaw Direct:

http://www.shaw.ca/television/channe...-channel-list/

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)

Last edited by 57; 2014-10-04 at 04:42 PM. Reason: Added Edit
57 is offline  
 
post #469 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-05, 10:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hooterville
Posts: 29
Thumbs down Rant

What`s with this new guide? Real user friendly. You have to go to Parental Controls to edit the guide. Who thought that one up?????? When you edit a duplicate channel out it wipes all of the same channel out across the whole guide. The previous guide was fine. Do they not try this thing out before they it ram down all the customers throats?
HenryWiggers is offline  
post #470 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-06, 02:12 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 244
Although there are a few good innovations the new guide in my opinion is a disaster. Some aspects are very difficult to read if eyesight is below par (especially the bright highlighted headings) and the loss of the old favorites and replacing it with a stupid owners system is awful. The worst thing though is the dozens of clicks needed to add or remove a station from the owners list.The duplicate programming is ridiculous too. It would be great if programmers would retain the good aspects when changing systems and improve the poorer items in any program. It is akin to Microsoft getting rid of the much loved "Start" in Windows 8 which must have cost Microsoft millions in revenue. It makes me wonder how such highly intelligent people can be so stupid.
Lester is offline  
post #471 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-06, 04:33 PM
JCM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 171
It also sucks in that with the "huge" info screen on the right one only gets to look at 1 1/2 hour of programing - not like before and Bell's 3-5 hours.
Makes it easier to program an evening's entertainment.
Just plain DUM.
JCM is offline  
post #472 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-06, 06:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tumbler Ridge B.C.
Posts: 409
????? you can go up in time by pushing the right arrow around the center button
sawguyg is offline  
post #473 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-06, 08:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
CBC and CTV have HD news. Sun should be.

But for some reason or another Shaw Direct is dragging their knuckles in carrying them.
classicsat is offline  
post #474 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-07, 11:23 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
The lack of both CBC and CTV News in HD is among the several reasons why I am leaving Shaw Direct (along with the VOD that never works!). It's kind of ironic that Shaw Direct is using space themed characters as mascots when both Bell Fibe and Rogers Cable are "light years" ahead in technology and keeping up with HD content.
nightheron is offline  
post #475 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-08, 09:12 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 194
Before you leave SD, pop in a channel request for those channels. It might help the rest of us!
CrispyPotato is offline  
post #476 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-10-12, 01:27 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kingston. On
Posts: 468
Unwatchable pixellation

Recorded 'The Flash' on CTVHD. Had to delete and d/l due to extreme pixellation during 'fast scenes' (oh the irony)

Probably due to CTV's compression.

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
Ouser is offline  
post #477 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-11-09, 02:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Creston BC
Posts: 27
Unhappy New shaw direct price increase

I see Shaw Direct has announced a new price increase for Jan. 1st 2015. They justify it because of a wonderful new guide and more VOD. I can't even watch a Canadian national news channel in HD. They lost 6600 subscribers in past year, will be interesting to see if this adds to it. At least they won't be able to use their 30 day cancelation policy much longer. good day to all!
bravo 1 is offline  
post #478 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-11-13, 08:38 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 42
I've see this type of pixelation on tsn2. I've been complaining about it for years.
Heisenberg is offline  
post #479 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-12-10, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 35
Why in almost 2015 isn't every channel in HD? Aside from CNN none of the news channels are in HD. CBC, CTV news, Fox news, CNBC, MSNBC, BNN, Sun News, etc. I think Shaw Direct will lose more customers if they don't increase their high definition content.
Jocasta is offline  
post #480 of 674 (permalink) Old 2014-12-10, 10:28 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,411
Shaw Direct Complaint and Rant Thread

I checked the main providers and CNBC and Fox News aren't in HD anywhere in Canada.

Last edited by DSgamby; 2014-12-10 at 07:04 PM.
DSgamby is online now  
Reply

Tags
complaint , rant , shaw direct

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome