BellTV Remote Control Discussions - Please read Post 1 - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-09-22, 11:43 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
Many Yamaha (and some other) AVRs utilize discrete codes for the on/off function. Therefore the typical remote that comes with other equipment will not do this, since there is only one "power" button. This was mentioned in post 31, right above yours.

You'll need to consider a Harmony or similar remote to do this, or be satisfied with the volume functionality. Some remotes are "learning" remotes, in that they can be taught any command to any key, but I don't think the BTV remotes have this functionality?


Check out the following post, useful for those new to this forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-09-22, 06:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply 57. I will have some thoughts about it.
Logan Wulf is offline  
post #48 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-10-15, 10:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Use 9242 Remote to Control 5800 Receiver

Hi,

My remote for the 5800 is on the fritz and bought a 9242 #2 remote because it seemed like a better remote.

Doesn't seem to work on the 5800 is there something I can do to correct this?

Thanks

Last edited by 57; 2009-10-16 at 12:40 PM. Reason: Moved to appropriate thread in the appropriate forum.
Revo is offline  
 
post #49 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-10-16, 12:36 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Does the 5800 remote have a green tab at bottom of remote? If so take the tab out by taking battery cover off and using your nail or coin to push up the tab. They take out the blue tab on 9242 remote and put green tab in. Go to sys info screen and press and hold rec button till lights flash.....enter a code ex. 01 then hit # and record once.
Q is offline  
post #50 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-10-16, 01:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
9xxx remotes (UHF Pro 6 models) are not RF compatible with 5xxx remotes. You could try flipping the tab so it says "1" instead of "2". (That just flips a hidden switch in the remote.) Some remotes also have an A/B switch in the battery compartment. It might be worth looking for that and changing. I think it just changes UHF Pro bands though. UHF Pro remotes will control older receivers but only by using IR. That can be done by programming the AUX button with 01 to 15.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #51 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-10-16, 01:50 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
I was assuming they wanted IR.
Q is offline  
post #52 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-10-16, 03:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revo View Post
My remote for the 5800 is on the fritz and bought a 9242 #2 remote because it seemed like a better remote.
Doesn't seem to work on the 5800 is there something I can do to correct this?
Open the Battery compartment, remove the small screw holding in the BLUE tab. Turn the tab over, it should say UHF. Program Remote to match your 5800.

Last edited by Pinza; 2009-10-16 at 03:06 PM. Reason: Had the wrong color for the tab.
Pinza is offline  
post #53 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-12, 05:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa ON
Posts: 10
Hi. New forum member here.

I have an old 2700 receiver that has a dead remote. I inherited an 8.0 remote from my father and while I can set it up to turn my TV on/off and I cannot get it to work with the 2700. I know the 8.0 remote is UHF Pro but I'm under the impression that it should also send IR signals. Am I wrong about this? Can this remote be used to control my 2700?
747Pilot is offline  
post #54 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-12, 07:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
do you know how to program tv on the older remotes with "mode" button?
kathystlouis is offline  
post #55 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-12, 09:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa ON
Posts: 10
No I don't. Are you saying there is a way to use the original 2700 remote to turn a tv on/off?
747Pilot is offline  
post #56 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-12, 09:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Pretty sure the 8.0 is a UHF Pro, ONLY. That model does not do IR.
Pinza is offline  
post #57 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-13, 12:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa ON
Posts: 10
Thanks Pinza
747Pilot is offline  
post #58 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-18, 09:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Abitibi, Québec
Posts: 36
Question AUX Code to contol my SONY STR-DE445 Receiver with Remote

Hi! I tried all the AUX code for Audio Amplifier and Receiver in teh Bell ExpressVu manual section 13 and I'm absolutly not able to turn ON or OFF my Sony STR-DE445 Amplifier and Receiver for my Home Theater. My old remote for my SD PVR was able to and I tried the older code without any success. I also tried the scan code without more success.

Does somebody can help me with this one please? Thanks.

Last edited by 57; 2009-11-19 at 12:35 AM. Reason: Moved to existing thread, earlier posts may help...
Peterfreedom is offline  
post #59 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-19, 12:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterfreedom View Post
Hi! I tried all the AUX code for Audio Amplifier and Receiver in teh Bell ExpressVu manual section 13 and I'm absolutly not able to turn ON or OFF my Sony STR-DE445 Amplifier and Receiver for my Home Theater. My old remote for my SD PVR was able to and I tried the older code without any success. I also tried the scan code without more success.

Does somebody can help me with this one please? Thanks.
I have a different Sony Amp/Rec and was also not able to program a code that would turn it off or on. IIRC, I searched a bit and recall reading a post about how Sony purposely sets remote codes for their own equipment so that you have to use Sony remotes. I eventually just got a Harmony remote which works fine for everything. One thing you might try is getting your old SD PVR remote to work with your new BEV receiver.
taxtwit is offline  
post #60 of 628 (permalink) Old 2009-11-25, 08:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Abitibi, Québec
Posts: 36
If the code on my old remote for my 5900 PVR was 268 and it was working, why can't I have a usable code for the new remote of my 9241?
Peterfreedom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome