Official 4100 Owners Thread - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-01-22, 09:31 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
4100 Receiver- Missing Channels

I bought a 4100 in November at my former residence. I have since moved, and connected my receiver to the pre-existing dish. The 4100 works fine... except I am missing channels. These missing channels don't even exist on my guide. I have about a 80 signal strength, although I am sure this has nothing to do with the missing channels. I have already attempted to re-set the receiver.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
JARMACDONALD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-01-23, 07:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 754
Channels you subscribe to will disappear or "expire" if you leave the dish disconnected from the receiver for an extended amount of time (days). Plug in the phone line and then visit channel 188 (the channel ordering page) and then select a channel package that you already subscribe to. If you do not subscribe to anything in the list then call up customer service and request to have the channels refreshed because you are missing channels after the receiver was unplugged for days while you moved.

BTV 5900, 6100, 9200, 6141 & 9242 | Xbox 360 & PS3 | Samsung Galaxy S II
Falcon is offline  
post #48 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-01-24, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 170
Can anyone tell me what the 4100 is worth to buy outright? I just can not stand sitting on the phone with bev. I'm looking for a receiver to connect to my pc. This looks like a good fit due to it's small footprint. Having said that, is the digital audio issue widespread?

Pioneer VSX-1015tx, Paradigm Titans, CC-270, ADP-170, PDR-12, Toshiba 42HL196, Expressvu 9200, 6100, 4100, Harmony 880
Gouie is offline  
 
post #49 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-01-24, 06:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,236
I managed to find three 4100's for sale (new customer) for $99 each. This was about three weeks ago and they're VERY hard to find now. I'm not using the DD output though so I can't comment on that.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is offline  
post #50 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-01-24, 06:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 170
Thanks. Strange they would be so much though. Bell's got the 4120 on for $99.00. Maybe that's with a contract?

One more thing, can someone please explain the difference between an express vu receiver and a dish network receiver?

Pioneer VSX-1015tx, Paradigm Titans, CC-270, ADP-170, PDR-12, Toshiba 42HL196, Expressvu 9200, 6100, 4100, Harmony 880

Last edited by Gouie; 2006-01-24 at 06:41 PM.
Gouie is offline  
post #51 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-01-24, 08:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,236
I believe that $99 is the standard price today at least. You might find one of the older receivers for less though. I purchased the receivers only (4100), not the 4120.

Dish network is an American Satellite company like Bell. Both Bell and Dish use Echostar receivers. They run different software though and, as far as I know, are not interchangeable. I'm certain Bell wouldn't activate a Dish branded receiver.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is offline  
post #52 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-02-15, 04:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
I saw these receivers going for $35 on E-Bay and there was a bid for them for free too.

I'm almost wondering if I should rent this thing seeing as it's only $2.50 a month, I just bought it however.

Is there any new changes with the software yet?

PS Do they charge existing subs regular price to rent these receivers?

Last edited by wrxblaze; 2006-02-15 at 04:57 AM.
wrxblaze is offline  
post #53 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 08:58 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Synch problems

Just got a 4100 last weekend. After installing it we have noticed the unit is out of synch. The audio is about 15 frames to 1 seconds behind video. Checked our PVR and seem to have similar problems there as well. Asnyone had experience with sych problems? I spoke to BEV, they had me unplug and reset the units. Doesn't seem to work though.
editor is offline  
post #54 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 09:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 301
Just in the last week, I've noticed very slight audio delays on some channels, but it is not consistent and certainly nowhere near as bad as yours.

"...just me up on my pony on my boat."
GregoriusM is offline  
post #55 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 09:46 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
What did you do to fix the problem.
editor is offline  
post #56 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 09:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 301
It comes and goes. It happens so infrequently that I hardly notice it when just watching without looking for it.

For you, I'd get a new box.

"...just me up on my pony on my boat."
GregoriusM is offline  
post #57 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 09:52 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Ya, but its happening on 3 boxes. Only one of them is new. Just called expressvu and they want me to check my signal to make sure its over 75%. I'l do that later tonight when i get home. They say the dish may have moved and they want $75 to come out and fix it. I say if the dish moved I would have no signal period and it was a bad install in the first place.
editor is offline  
post #58 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 09:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 301
I think that is garbage. They don't send the audio and video out in separate streams, as far as I know.

You either get it or you don't.

Sorry, I can't help you.

"...just me up on my pony on my boat."
GregoriusM is offline  
post #59 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-03, 10:00 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 169
Thanx for the help G.
editor is offline  
post #60 of 285 (permalink) Old 2006-03-17, 11:09 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Using the bev 4100 with toshiba RD-XS34 dvd recorder

Hi, does anyone know what the best way is to use a Toshiba RD-XS 34 dvd recorder with a Bell expressvu 4100 receiver for recording. Is there an IR code that you can use for the dvd recorder to start the recording to work with the 4100? If anyone has any experience with these 2 systems please let me know. It's a real pain setting the both up for recordings. Thanks
roofer929 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome