New Activations by Appt Only now? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-26, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
New Activations by Appt Only now?

Here is a good one, I finally convinced my neighbour to make the switch to Bell from cable and we set up his dish last week and he purchased 3 receivers locally which are clear to activate so I'm over there helping him get this setup and he goes through all the info process of package, hardware numbers ect, then he is told that the earliest someone can come out is next Thursday. That's when I got on the phone and told the rep that the dish was already self-installed and he is ready for activation. Still, the earliest he can get in for activation is next Thursday to which I said we are calling today for activation that's why we are calling in. I asked to speak to a supervisor and we were on hold then the call disconnected. Does Bell do activations by appt only now? I've never heard of this before
Smokin Joe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-26, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Well we managed to get him up and going sort of. Bell had to set up something called a shell account as it was apparently the only way to get going today allegedly, Iíve never heard of this before. Also he has three receivers 9400,6131 & 6400 all bought second hand and the 9400 is totally up and running but the 6131 & 6400 are both missing a bunch of channels(not all the same ones) he called Bell back this afternoon and had a re hit done to no avail. He checked to make sure that nothing was locked or locked out in settings and all was not locked, so I will go back over tomorrow and call Bell again to see what the issue is.
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-27, 02:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43į N, 81.2į W
Posts: 8,208
Quote:
missing a bunch of channels
The check switch may need resetting. That's done by disconnecting the RG6 and performing a check switch to clear the old settings. Then reconnect the RG6 and redo the check switch.
ExDilbert is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-27, 04:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Will try that. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-27, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Well I tried the check switch and it did bring back one single channel. Bell figures the internal smart card is faulty and is supposedly sending out a new external one so we will see.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-28, 08:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43į N, 81.2į W
Posts: 8,208
I believe the smart card for the 6131 was updated some years ago. Not sure about the 6400 and 9400. Used receivers are sometimes missing the smart card.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-28, 09:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 178
the only reason that bell does home installs even if you set it up yourself is to make sure that all 3 recievers are in one address and not being shared with someone else.
heans is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-28, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
I believe the smart card for the 6131 was updated some years ago.
Yes I think so although this particular 6131 receiver was purchased from the original owner who bought it new in 2009, but you are correct that all later 6131ís and all refurbished ones all came with external cards I think anyway. The Internal SC he has still starts with S04
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-10-28, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by heans View Post
the only reason that bell does home installs even if you set it up yourself is to make sure that all 3 recievers are in one address and not being shared with someone else.
That could be true and we made sure that all 3 are hooked up to his modem with cat 6

Last edited by 57; 2019-10-29 at 04:24 PM.
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-11-01, 06:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Buckhorn, ON
Posts: 1
Had missing (subbed) channels on my 6131 and 9241... BEV sent me 2 new cards and that fixed it up.
dishgawd is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2019-11-01, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Thatís good to know Iím hoping that it resolves the issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old Today, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 125
Well we got the new Smart Card installed on the 6131 tonight and my neighbor is thrilled. It was easy and painless. Iím not sure if he got sent a newer N3 G4 smart card that a select few got last year or the older N3 G3 card but this card was mostly all white where his other cards are Blue & White in his 9400 & 6400


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Smokin Joe is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome