BellTV Channel Discussion Thread - Page 30 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 22Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #436 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-08-16, 11:12 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 3,758
@dm_4u : I checked the information at Bell's SRDU website where you can get transponder assignment and other technical information for each of Bell Satellite's TV channels. Under the Dolby column, FSRHD/1421 is shown as "none" whereas all other Fox Channels are shown as "AC-3" (surround or multichannel). That might explain why there's no centre channel sound on 1421 or your comment that the sound is horrid. Hope this helps you.
dm_4u likes this.
reidw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #437 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-08-16, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,311
Just as an FYI, we get FSR on channel 409 on Rogers. The channel does have a properly encoded DD5.1 signal, with the dialogue coming out the centre channel, etc. I just checked on some drag racing programme.

It is possible that if the original programme is not DD5.1, they may still send DD5.1 that is "improperly encoded" - see more on that topic below:

Here's an FAQ on DD5.1 and the fact that some programming on CBC, etc is often what I call "improperly encoded" since they send a DD5.1 signal all the time, but only the LF & RF channels on programming that was not DD5.1 to begin with:

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-...e-dd5-1-a.html Items 1, 3, etc.

So, a DD5.1 signal is no guarantee that you will get centre channel sound, if it's improperly encoded. Of course if the channel is sending DD2.0, then most AVRs will decode that using DPLII, etc to give you surround sound and centre channel audio, however, if you're getting DD5.1 that's improperly encoded, there's usually not much that you can do, other than change the output of the STB for that particular channel to two channel audio, in which case you'd have to change it back for other channels, or utilize analogue audio connections and switch the AVR to that input, both of which are not great options.

If the problem persists, you may wish to contact Bell and the "broadcaster" in question. I have not found Bell very responsive, however, I have found the broadcasters helpful in some cases.
dm_4u likes this.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #438 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 10:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 147
Just got my Bell bill and had a message ... As of December 5, 2019, BBC Canada, Cartoon Network, FYI and Fashion TV will no longer be available on Bell TV

Bell continuing to drop SD channels.
Kingclancy is offline  
 
post #439 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 11:13 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,036
I wonder if this will also happen to Bell Fibe? Is it because of SD band width or there just dropping those chsannels?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is online now  
post #440 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,345
Fashion TV MUST be shutting down completely since it's a Bell owned channel. Why not Book Television while they are at it?

There are HD versions of the other three channels, just not on Bell TV.

Cogeco - Mix 40 with TiVo T6 DVR & 2 TiVo Minis, UltraFibre 360; Rogers - LG G7 ThinQ; Koodo - Wireless Home Phone
denben73 is online now  
post #441 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 12:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 3,758
Knowledge Network also shuts down this month. It takes six SD channels for one HD channel. That's five so far. Wonder what is going to replace them? (The Weather Network HD?)
reidw is offline  
post #442 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 01:29 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,692
I checked a few other provider web sites and the only one that had a confirmation is Telus which resells Bell satellite. The wording is identical for all 4 channels and is similar to other channels being shut down like Cosmo, IFC and Comedy Gold.

"As of December 5th, 2019, the BBC Canada channel will no longer be available due to a recent channel provider change. As such, this channel will no longer be available on its own or within the following packages..."

There was no mention of the channels in the Optik TV section of the Telus web site (similar to Fibe TV), so it's hard to say if it is just Bell satellite that is dropping them.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #443 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 03:43 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 631
Nothing here on Rogers happening so far.
Humbar is offline  
post #444 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-12, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Swift Current SK
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by reidw View Post
Knowledge Network also shuts down this month. It takes six SD channels for one HD channel. That's five so far. Wonder what is going to replace them? (The Weather Network HD?)


They can get rid of AHC SD for a total of 6 and then add AHC in HD


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Smokin Joe is online now  
post #445 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-10-13, 06:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,036
One flaw is those that don't have a HD receiver will loose out if the SD channels are dropped. If you got a HD receiver and there's a HD version on Bell TV it won't effect you only those with SD receivers and if there is only a SD version available.

I understand Bell TV has Band width issues. And there basically only a few ways to solve it?

1) get ride of some of the PPV channels? Do really need 30+ PPV channels plus Red Carpet PPV Channels?

2) convert SD channels to MPEG 4 and either eswap out those with SD receivers for fre or reduced cost? Dish did this with there subs?

3) terminate the contract with Dish for the use of their sat at 72(N5 I believe) and use it by going to a 3 sat operation.

4)drop low viewed channels?

But in all honesty I think Bell will eventually sell off Bell Sat or offer those a "Deal" to switch to Bell Fibe(where available)

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is online now  
post #446 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-12-08, 11:36 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 147
Ch 1212 CBS Seattle

Has anyone else noticed that CBS west, CH 1212, Audio is not Dolby 5.1 anymore.
dm_4u likes this.
Kingclancy is offline  
post #447 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-12-09, 02:04 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,692
Telus Posted November 25, 2019 in their Satellite section that BBC Canada, Cartoon Network and Fashion Television will all remain active and available as individual channels and as part of the theme packs they are currently included in. FYI however will still be unavailable. Since Telus resells Bell Satellite, the same should apply to Bell Satellite customers.

I updated the title of this related thread: FYI Channel shutting down Dec. 2019
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #448 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-12-13, 02:45 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,692
Telus posted the following about Bell's Satellite service that they resell.

Effective January 31, 2020, Canal+ International will no longer be available on Satellite TV.

As of December 13, 2019, the TV Polonia channel will no longer be available due to a recent provider change. As such, this channel will no longer be available on its own or within the Polish Combo.

Telus posted earlier that TVP Polonia will no longer be available on Optik TV as well.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #449 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-12-14, 12:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-Satellite
Posts: 2,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingclancy View Post
Has anyone else noticed that CBS west, CH 1212, Audio is not Dolby 5.1 anymore.
Yes, this channel has only broadcast in DD 2.0 for a couple of years now...no idea why.
Kingclancy likes this.
dm_4u is offline  
post #450 of 453 (permalink) Old 2019-12-17, 12:33 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 1,326
1052 global gone?

Put on news at 11pm on 1052 Global Toronto and Thunder bay news is being broadcast.
jdevlin is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome