Advice needed - 3100 Issues - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 39 (permalink) Old 2015-08-13, 08:04 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 148
If the old software from 2010 can't talk to the 2012 satellite how can it receive a software update? This is what I'm wondering.
queerasmoi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 39 (permalink) Old 2015-08-14, 04:46 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
The software will update, it can or should be able to recognize the signal from 91.

What Signal Levels are you getting?

Even an old 3100 with software from several years ago, will still get the free preview channels perfectly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by queerasmoi View Post
the Check Switch screen still says twin.
That shows that the receiver is not seeing the Quad, so It appears to be a cable/connector issue.

When you run a Check Switch with nothing connected, does it run through 38 steps?
Allan B is offline  
post #33 of 39 (permalink) Old 2015-08-14, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 148
It's not connected now so I'd have to schedule another troubleshooting session later. The cable to the satellite is fine as our SD PVR has no trouble getting reception when connected to it.

Signal is 100% but Wrong Sat.

EDIT - actually it turns out the 3100 has been plugged in for at least a solid day but now when I turn it on there's nothing sent to the TV at all, just static. That's weird.

Switched back to the 5900 - on the same cable it's definitely seeing Nimiq 91 at 100%.

Last edited by queerasmoi; 2015-08-14 at 11:12 AM.
queerasmoi is offline  
 
post #34 of 39 (permalink) Old 2015-08-14, 04:00 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
Bad 3100.
Allan B is offline  
post #35 of 39 (permalink) Old 2018-05-06, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,195
Today I decided to try and watch the rec room TV. This is a SD TV and has a Bell 3100 Receiver. I get a message saying the smart card currently inserted is not valid with this receiver. Has anybody else tried using a 3100 receiver lately? If I call Bell will they send a new smart card?
cyclist44 is offline  
post #36 of 39 (permalink) Old 2018-05-07, 01:04 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 806
I have an old 3100 in a bedroom and it still works fine. I don't turn it off unless I'm leaving the house for a number of days in a row. The only issue I've noticed is that the PEACH ch. from Atlanta says I'm not subscribed, but the channel works fine in HD on my 6131 receiver.
lars is offline  
post #37 of 39 (permalink) Old 2018-08-26, 05:11 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 49
I have two 3100's still running and doing just fine. My mom's 86 and they are for her TV's ... I like to keep it simple for her.
There is a card swap going on so maybe you need new cards?
Satellite97 is offline  
post #38 of 39 (permalink) Old 2019-10-14, 11:56 AM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ON
Posts: 532
Silly question (3100)

I used to be a Bell tech but that's been 6 or 7 years ago so my memory is very fuzzy. My in laws have acquired a 3100 but it has no smart card.

I cannot for the life of me remember if those receivers all had external smart card or if they had some that were external and some internal like the 4100. I'm nowhere near them or I would hook it all up and figure that out.

Does anyone know the answer to my question?

".....but the man on the phone said it's....."
Well tell the man on the phone come fix it then.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2019-10-14 at 12:48 PM. Reason: merged with existing thread
monkeyhunk is offline  
post #39 of 39 (permalink) Old 2019-10-14, 11:59 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 213
External smartcard.
frenchhomer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome