Telus will distribute Bell satellite TV in Alberta and BC - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-07, 05:18 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
I wonder if the will brand the boxes and guides with their logo?

I suppose they could make a custom channel lineup that matches their Telus TV or maybe just follow the standard BTV one.

I can't get Telus TV in my neighborhood and the audio dropouts from the cableco are miserable.

So would BTV via Telus be any better?

I know Telus TV gets most of the signals from BTV, so this is a good synergy.

Doesn't it al come done to where the errors are, the source broadcast network or affiliate, the distributor and the equipment used in the home?

With Starchoice having rebranded twice, Starchoice, a Shaw Company and now to Shaw direct, the old rumours of a few years ago about Telus buying Starcgoice seem pretty remote now.

With the failed BCE privatization bombed, could BTV be a takeover target for Telus.

Lets face it, they are both wireline telcos at their core and it's the Rogers and Shaws that are the common enemy that have taken market share away with their bundles.

M.
Moose57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-07, 07:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Toronto • Toshiba 52XL177 • HD DVD Toshiba • Rogers HDPVR Cisco 8642
Posts: 2,886
Bell stated today they'd continue to compete directly in western Canada selling Bell satellite TV but Telus would also sell the service -- under the Telus TV brand. Telus would not be a mere "reseller" as such: customers will receive a bill (and, presumably, technical support?) directly from Telus. I'd expect the boxes would be branded Telus as well.

It sounds like a logistical nightmare to me and very confusing for the customer. But I do see the advantage to Telus from a bundling perspective.

It might make a whole lot more sense if Bell TV was spun off as a separate company and 50% jointly owned by Telus and Bell. There would likely be no regulatory issues as long as Shaw Direct (aka Star Choice) continued to thrive. Plus, both Bell and Telus could share "head ends" -- one in the east, one in the west and connect them with fibre for redundancy.

It may shed some light on what they plan to do with Nimiq 5 and its 72° orbital slot as well.
SensualPoet is offline  
post #18 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-07, 07:32 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
With 2 of the 3 provinces they will play in, Alberta is probably OK for the current orbital slots, but I think much of B.C. enjoys better coverage with Shaw Direct due to orbital slots, tress, mountains and moisture.

I certainly hope they do very well with it.
Competition is often a very good things for consumers.

The Telus Headend in Edmonton WOULD be a nice backup uplink for the Toronto storms and associated nation outages.

I think Shaw direct uplinks in multiple locations across the continent and so about all you loose is a dozen channels at a time.

I think they best option would be to share capacity or model something like Dish's Eastern and Western Arc plans.
Use 1/2 of each sats capacity on a 3 bird arc and have the US boys use the other half.

Maybe with the overlap in a few areas, there could be added capacity.

M.
Moose57 is offline  
 
post #19 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 01:22 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 50
I have inside information, so I have to really be careful how I post.
Telus has branded receivers. They are labeled telus, as is the remote and the guide shows telus. not bell. Telus and Bell have entered into an infrastructure sharing arangement. Why reinvent the wheel. It goes both ways. Bell mobility customers already use some of Telus's wireless infrastructure, and the new HSPA network also known as 4G Bell will use all TELUS infrastructure in the west,and TELUS will use Bells in the east. Telus will sell satellite service under their own name. Bell will also sell service under their own name. At present, Telus only intends to offer satellite service in BC and Alberta, as that is where the wireline is based, and the techs work.
IPTV will be marketed to those that qualify. For people outside the IPTV footprint, they will be offered Satellite TV. From what I understand, if a customer wants say 3 HD boxes, they they will be offered satellite TV directly. I do not know anythjing at this point about channel packages or prices. This was just announced, but I did read something about up to 500 channels, and over 70HD, so it sounds like the full load of channels will be available. Pricing has not been announced, but it will probably be a totally free install just like the current IPTV, and customers will likely not have to buy any equipment. It will likely be free rental with a term commitment. As I said I don't have any more details, but I have known of this project for several months.
This type of arrangment already exists in teh US. Verizon has been selling (bundeling) dishnet programming under their name for several years. This just gives Telus a way to bundle TV and Phone and Internet, and offer discounts. The shaw boys are probably changing their underware about now.
Hackinsat is offline  
post #20 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 01:27 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 50
Well, Telus did build a "satellite" center in Mission. This is the backup for the headend in Edmonton for the IPTV, and I would imagine it could also be an uplink for satellite. I am betting that Telus will uplink their own PPV channels, and not offer the "Vu" channels.
Bell did just swap out all the old HD receivers to newer receivers that support 8psk and MPG4. This will give plenty f space for Telus to uplink some of their own exclusive channels.

Incidentally I have seen 2 receiver models, they are the 6131 and 9242, same model as Bell, but they are branded Telus.
Hackinsat is offline  
post #21 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 01:32 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 50
I can tell you one thing, the install will be first rate, by people that take pride in their work, unlike bell, who uses contractors, and pays peanuts.
Many of the bell contractors are in suck a hurry they don't take the time to do a quality install. That won't be the case with the Telus techs.
Hackinsat is offline  
post #22 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 06:46 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 151
Shortsighted move by Telus - This opens the door for Shaw to petition the CRTC to allow them to bundle Shaw Direct with Shaw Cable offerings
Shear Force is offline  
post #23 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 09:05 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 772
I'd be curious to know if Bell equipment would be transferrable to the Telus Satellite service in order to take advantage of the bundling discounts.
supergenius is offline  
post #24 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shear Force View Post
Shortsighted move by Telus - This opens the door for Shaw to petition the CRTC to allow them to bundle Shaw Direct with Shaw Cable offerings
According to this link Shaw Direct is already bundling Shaw services.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #25 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 11:13 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 844
Quote:
Bell will use all TELUS infrastructure in the west,and TELUS will use Bells in the east
Does this mean we will see Telus branded satellite TV in the East as well?! Also since they seem to be sharing everything, any chance Telus may launch their IPTV service in Ontario via Bell's infrastructure?? Ontario & Quebec are the only areas (and most populated parts of the country) without an IPTV service- don't understand the reason behind that?! Since Bell does not appear to be launching their IPTV service any time this decade, why not allow Telus to expand into the East and give consumers here another option for TV viewing?!
PlayitSimple is offline  
post #26 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackinsat View Post
Incidentally I have seen 2 receiver models, they are the 6131 and 9242, same model as Bell, but they are branded Telus.
Hope you're right - Bell has discontinued using the 9242 (a two tuner/two output HD-PVR) and is now using the 9241 (two tuner, but only one output HD-PVR).
taxtwit is offline  
post #27 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 08:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Telus has the 9241, not the 9242.

The downlink setup Telus has built in BC and Alberta is very different then an uplink. I highly doubt they will ever uplink any of there own channels. It may not even be possible as the uplink antennas on the Bell satellite likely point only to Ontario.
TheSteve is offline  
post #28 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-08, 10:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Bell did just swap out all the old HD receivers to newer receivers that support 8psk and MPG4.
Bell have NOT swapped out the MPEG2 HD receivers yet (6100 & 9200), they only got rid of the 6000, which was not capable of 8PSK.

I here that a couple of the Bell managers out West are now working for a Bell Contractor ....Not confirmed yet but interesting. If Hackinsat is correct I wonder why they jumped ship.
Pinza is offline  
post #29 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-05-10, 11:33 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSteve View Post
Telus has the 9241, not the 9242.

The downlink setup Telus has built in BC and Alberta is very different then an uplink. I highly doubt they will ever uplink any of there own channels. It may not even be possible as the uplink antennas on the Bell satellite likely point only to Ontario.
It would be possible. The uplink antennas on the satellite are likely national like the downlink ones.

Besides, if Telus stuff to uplink, they could fibre it to Toronto anyhow to uplink where the uplinks are, rather than invest in an uplink station and related personnel in Alberta for only a handful of channels.
classicsat is offline  
post #30 of 40 (permalink) Old 2009-08-07, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackinsat View Post
I can tell you one thing, the install will be first rate, by people that take pride in their work, unlike bell, who uses contractors, and pays peanuts.
Many of the bell contractors are in suck a hurry they don't take the time to do a quality install. That won't be the case with the Telus techs.
I agree BELL uses 2nd rate installers (i install myself, so it doesn't matter personally) but I gave up TELUS phone and internet a long time ago because of their crappy customer service and tech. support. I asked a supervisor what they were willing to do for me before closing my account, and to quote them exactly, they said, "absolutely nothing sir, you'll be back". TELUS has always treated me like a joke and I will never subscribe to their services after getting rid of them. Ironically 3 months later I had a flyer in the mail begging me to come back with them. This company is a joke... or WAS while I was with them. Bell's customer service is no better, but at least their hardware and channel selection is top of the line for Canada.
mondoguitar is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell , satellite tv , telus

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome