BlackBerry Users Can Now Retract Messages for Free

This week, BlackBerry announced a new feature that many users may love.

Want more privacy when you send messages? Users of iOS®, Android™ and BlackBerry® smartphones can now take advantage of enhanced privacy and control features that allow them to take control over the messages and content that they share.

BBM users can ‘Retract’ their message and pictures from recipients to take them back from their phone if they were sent as a mistake, or if they no longer wish them to be accessible.

gsmarena_001In addition, by setting a timer, users can control how long contacts can view messages and pictures that have been shared or communicate their location for only as long as they wish.

“Building on the renowned immediacy, reliability and security inherent to BBM, the new release provides unmatched level of privacy and control to BBM users without any subscription fees,” said Matthew Talbot, SVP, BBM at BlackBerry. “Keeping control over the messages and content that they share, BBM users can be ensured that what they share is always theirs to control.”

Additional features coming from BlackBerry and available on most devices include:

  • the ability to forward messages from one chat to another
  • the ability to mute notifications for a multi-person chat on Android
  • the ability to scroll through all pictures shared within a 1:1 or multi-person chat on Android
  • the power to choose if users want pictures taken within BBM chats saved to their device
  • the ability to capture and share larger videos on iOS
  • a redesigned chat screen
  • a multi-select mode to allow multiple messages to be deleted, retracted, or forwarded at once on iOS
  • the ability to retract and edit messages in group chats on BlackBerry 10
  • the ability to retract all sent messages when you end a chat on BlackBerry 10

For more information about BBM please visit www.bbm.com.

Comments are closed.