Cable box wont turn on - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-01-06, 12:02 AM   #1
Teknicide
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Cable box wont turn on

I got the small digital cable box a few weeks ago, can't remember the name.. It's the small motorola box which is black.

It was working fine until I unplugged the cable box because I needed the outlet for something else and after I plugged it back in, it wouldn't turn on.

The remote works, I can still use it to turn my tv on and off.

When I press the "CBL" key and press power, it takes about a second for the light to come on, it's not instant like the other buttons.

I was just wondering if anyone else had the same problem or if someone knew how to fix it.

I've been trying to get a hold of Shaw but can't get through on the phone.
Teknicide is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-01-06, 12:03 AM   #2
pmcd76
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 130
Default

just call and press 0.
pmcd76 is offline  
Old 2009-01-10, 09:23 PM   #3
DTPBcableguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 17
Default

Sounds like your digital box may be pooched, there may also be a few things you can try to restart it...

If you recently purchased it from Shaw or a storefront somewhere, they will let you return it, usually no questions asked. Same goes if it is a rental unit.

If you bought it from someone or off ebay etc, there are a few things you can try...I will check back if you want to leave me a message.
DTPBcableguy is offline  
Old 2009-01-13, 12:14 AM   #4
goldenbullet
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Unplug the electric wire behing your cable box and plug it back, if you cable box still work, you sould see the yellow dot flash once on the front when you plug the electric wire. If it doesn't , your cable box is dead (be sure that you have power on your power cord).

If the yellow dot flash, try to turn it on with your remote (cbl and power) if the cable box won't turn on, do this thing with your remote :

press cbl,
press and old down setup buton, cbl will flash twice,
press 9 - 8 - 2 (cbl will flash four times)
press and old down setup buton again, cbl will flash twice,
press 0 - 4 - 7 - 6


now, try to turn you cable box, it should works !

goldenbullet is offline  
Old 2011-02-23, 04:13 AM   #5
godsmackrules
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default Thank you!!

Dude, I was having the problem where my cable box wasn't turning on, I took your advice and tried that setup option, and it totally worked, man, if I had not decided to search on the internet I would have never found your answer, thank you so much man, I can't be more grateful for seeing your response, than I am right now, thank you!!!!!!!!
godsmackrules is offline  
Old 2011-03-25, 09:51 PM   #6
lmm79
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default thanks!

thanks mate, I followed your advice and it works, I am so happy!

lmm79 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.